Sing Them Home

A Novel

    • 3.8 • 16 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

One of Entertainment Weekly’s Ten Best Books of the Year: “A magical novel that even cynics will close with a smile” (People).
 
Everyone in Emlyn Springs, Nebraska, knows the story of Hope Jones, who was lost in the tornado of 1978. Her three young children found some stability in their father, a preoccupied doctor, and in their mother’s spitfire best friend—but nothing could make up for the loss of Hope.
 
Larken, the eldest, is now an art history professor who seeks in food an answer to a less tangible hunger. Gaelan, the son, is a telegenic weatherman who devotes his life to predicting the unpredictable. And the youngest, Bonnie, is a self-proclaimed archivist who combs roadsides for clues to her mother’s legacy, and permission to move on.
 
When they’re summoned home after their father’s sudden death, each sibling is forced to revisit the childhood event that has defined their lives. With lyricism, wisdom, and humor, this novel by the national bestselling author of Broken for You explores the consequences of protecting those we love. Sing Them Home is a magnificent tapestry of lives connected and undone by tragedy, lives poised—unbeknownst to the characters—for redemption.
 
“Comparisons to John Irving and Tennessee Williams would not be amiss in this show-stopping debut.” —KirkusReviews, starred review
 
Sing Them Home constantly surprises . . . A big cast of vividly portrayed characters.” —TheBoston Globe
 
“Fans of Ann Patchett and Haven Kimmel should dive onto the sofa one wintry weekend with Stephanie Kallos’ wonderfully transportive second novel.” —Entertainment Weekly

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2009
September 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
560
Pages
PUBLISHER
Grove Atlantic
SELLER
OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
SIZE
8.3
MB

More Books Like This

2021
2019
2018
2017
2015
2015

More Books by Stephanie Kallos

2007
2015

Customers Also Bought

2013
2019
2013
2011
2022
2017