The Hummingbird Effect The Hummingbird Effect

The Hummingbird Effect

    • 3.7 • 18 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

An epic, kaleidoscopic story of four women connected across time and place by an invisible thread and their determination to shape their own stories, from the acclaimed author of The Mother Fault.

Longlisted for the Stella Prize 2024
Longlisted for the Indie Book Awards 2024

Sydney Morning Herald Best Reads of the Year for 2023
 
One of the lucky few with a job during the Depression, Peggy’s just starting out in life. She’s a bagging girl at the Angliss meatworks in Footscray, a place buzzing with life as well as death, where the gun slaughterman Jack has caught her eye – and she his.

How is her life connected to Hilda’s, almost a hundred years later, locked inside during a plague, or La’s, further on again, a singer working shifts in a warehouse as her eggs are frozen and her voice is used by AI bots? Let alone Maz, far removed in time, diving for remnants of a past that must be destroyed?

Is it by the river that runs through their stories, eternal yet constantly changing – or by the mysterious Hummingbird Project and the great question of whether the march of progress can ever be reversed?

Propulsive, tender and engrossing, this genre-bending novel is a feast for the heart as well as the mind and senses. For fans of David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas, Michelle de Kretser’s The Life to Come and Jennifer Egan’s The Candy House, it confirms Mildenhall as one of the most ambitious and dynamic writers in the country.

'Kate Mildenhall is such an exciting writer to read … This generous, playful novel speaks to themes of climate change, survival and holding space for each other, as well as the enduring power of female friendship.' The Guardian

‘Spellbinding, genre-defying, and powerful in its vision of the future … The Hummingbird Effect is a devastating novel that exposes the ways the future is seeded in the past.’ Australian Book Review
 

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
2 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster Australia
SELLER
Simon and Schuster Australia Pty Ltd.
SIZE
8.5
MB

More Books Like This

The Power The Power
2016
The Midnight News The Midnight News
2023
The Wolf Border The Wolf Border
2015
The River by Starlight The River by Starlight
2018
Kickdown Kickdown
2018
Wake Wake
2014

More Books by Kate Mildenhall

The Mother Fault The Mother Fault
2020
Skylarking Skylarking
2016
Skylarking Skylarking
2017
To Stir with Love To Stir with Love
2024

Customers Also Bought

Edenglassie Edenglassie
2023
Stone Yard Devotional Stone Yard Devotional
2023
One Illumined Thread One Illumined Thread
2023
Song of the Crocodile Song of the Crocodile
2020
The Coconut Children The Coconut Children
2020
The Coast The Coast
2022