The Perfect Family

    • 3.6 • 40 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

‘A roller-coaster ride ... For fans of Celeste Ng, Gillian Flynn and Liane Moriarty.’ Booklist (starred review)

The bestselling author of The Party explores what happens when a seemingly perfect family is pushed to the edge by cruel, vindictive and increasingly dangerous attacks.


Thomas and Viv Adler have a picture-perfect family. Affluent and attractive, with two well-mannered kids almost out of the nest, they live in a beautiful house in a well-to-do neighbourhood. Their jobs are fulfilling; their children are thriving; the world is their oyster.

Until one morning, when they wake up to find that their house and car have been pelted with eggs. Thomas dismisses it as the work of a few out-of-control kids, but when a smoke bomb is tossed on their front lawn, and the tires on their BMW are punctured, he begins to worry. Unable to identify the perpetrators, they are helpless as the assaults escalate. The police assure them that this is just the work of bored teenagers, but no one in the Adler family believes it. After all, each of them has a secret – kept not only from the outside world but from each other.

As the Adlers grapple with their guilt, fear and shame, the assaults grow deadly. Their ‘perfect’ façade is crumbling, and it may be too late for any of them to do anything about it.

‘Robyn Harding is at her twisty, devious best ... A propulsive, constantly surprising read that both entertains and chills.’ Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of The Girls Are All So Nice Here

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
28 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster Australia
SELLER
Simon and Schuster Australia Pty Ltd.
SIZE
5.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

A solid psychological thriller

Viv would love to believe Thomas when he tells her there’s nothing to worry about and everything is fine. But when things start to escalate, even hearing the same message from the police gives her little comfort. None of them seem to know what is going on. Are they under attack from some unknown external enemy or is the real enemy the secrets between them that none of them can see coming.

The Perfect Family is a tense psychological thriller that follows the Adler’s whose picture perfect family persona that is displayed to all, is exposed as being anything but. We learn that each of the family has a pretty significant secret that they are hiding from each other and as the attacks increase, it becomes a guessing game as to whose is bad enough to warrant these attacks.

I did find that the story was drawn out especially when we learn very early on what each character is hiding. I also found there were just one too many attacks, but this just could have been my impatience in wanting the answers. The tension is ramped up 1000%, but when all is finally revealed, it didn’t have the thrilling impact I was hoping for, although I will say its last sentence did!

In saying all that, I did like this story. It has been well written and its characters are believable in their plights. This is my first book from Robyn Harding and even though this one just missed the mark for me, I am keen to read more of her work.

More Books by Robyn Harding

2018
2017
2019
2020
2021
2018

Customers Also Bought

2020
2021
2018
2019
2020
2019