A Gambling Man A Gambling Man
Book 2 - Aloysius Archer series

A Gambling Man

    • 4.2 • 128 Ratings
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

Evoking the golden age of crime, and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes the second book in the Private Investigator Archer series, A Gambling Man from one of the world’s bestselling thriller writers, David Baldacci.

A lucky roll of the dice
California, 1949. Aloysius Archer is on his way to start a new job with a renowned Private Investigator in Bay Town. Feeling lucky, he stops off at a casino in Reno, where he meets an aspiring actress, Liberty Callahan. Together, they head west on a journey filled with danger and surprises – because Archer isn’t the only one with a secretive past.

A risk worth taking
Arriving in a town rife with corruption, Archer is tasked with finding out who is doing everything they can to disrupt the appointment of a top official. Then two seemingly unconnected people are murdered at a burlesque club. In a tight-lipped community, Archer must dig deep to reveal the connection between the victims.

All bets are off
As the final perilous showdown unfurls, Archer will need all of his skills to decipher the truth from the lies and finally, to prove she’s a star in the making, will Liberty have her moment in the spotlight?

A Gambling Man is the second historical crime novel in David Baldacci’s Private Investigator Archer series, following the Sunday Times top five bestseller One Good Deed.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
15 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
4.3
MB

Customer Reviews

RJOB Cov ,

Simply excellent

What a character...I just want to meet Archer, he is a real Shamus - old school and charming but takes no prisoners. Looking forward to third book in series already

mr-o ,

Old fashioned

Baldacci has not really moved with the times. This series is very 1990s language and description. Both books are about dominating fathers and oppressed daughters. The central character is positioned as both a moral and an immoral person. Women are basic and sexualised. Welcome to the 1990s

More Books Like This

Casting Bones Casting Bones
2016
Hotel California Hotel California
2022
More Twisted More Twisted
2007
Avalanche Avalanche
2007
Ground Game Ground Game
2023
Hair of the Dog Hair of the Dog
2021

More Books by David Baldacci

Memory Man Memory Man
2015
The Innocent The Innocent
2012
Split Second Split Second
2009
Walk the Wire Walk the Wire
2020
Long Road to Mercy Long Road to Mercy
2018
The Hit The Hit
2013

Customers Also Bought

Fair Warning Fair Warning
2020
The Law of Innocence The Law of Innocence
2020
The Dark Hours The Dark Hours
2021
The Night Fire The Night Fire
2019
The Judge's List The Judge's List
2021
Dark Sacred Night Dark Sacred Night
2018

Other Books in This Series

Dream Town Dream Town
2022
One Good Deed One Good Deed
2019