• £1.99

Publisher Description

A house of God hides a dark secret...

It’s 1321 and Lady Elizabeth, Prioress of St Mary’s, is struggling to retain her position, especially since Sister Margherita, her treasurer, has accused her of lascivious disregard, claiming that, instead of paying for a new roof, Elizabeth has given money to the new vicar, a man she often sees alone – at night…

Sir Baldwin Furnshill, together with his old friend Simon Puttock, is summoned by the Bishop of Exeter’s representative to investigate. There is no doubt that the threefold vows of poverty, chastity and obedience are routinely being broken.

When two nuns are murdered, Simon and Baldwin must face their most difficult case yet. The path to the truth twists and turns under the influence of sinister passions and secret ambitions, until they finally uncover the evil that lies at the heart of the convent.

A scintillating historical adventure from bestseller Michael Jecks, for fans of C. J. Sansom, S. J. Parris and Susanna Gregory.

Praise for Michael Jecks

‘Michael Jecks is a national treasure’ Scotland on Sunday

‘Marvellously portrayed’ C. J. Sansom

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
July 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
454
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
486.9
KB

More Books by Michael Jecks

Other Books in This Series