• £3.99

Publisher Description

'A compulsively readable tale' Irish Times
'Another stellar read from McDermid, and further evidence that her "Queen of Crime" status will not be challenged' Scotsman

'Somebody has been here before us. And he's still here . . .'

When a body is discovered in the remote depths of the Highlands, DCI Karen Pirie finds herself in the right place at the right time. Unearthed with someone's long-buried inheritance, the victim seems to belong to the distant past - until new evidence suggests otherwise, and Karen is called in to unravel a case where nothing is as it seems.

It's not long before an overheard conversation draws Karen into the heart of a different case, however - a shocking crime she thought she'd already prevented. As she inches closer to the twisted truths at the centre of these murders, it becomes clear that she's dealing with a version of justice terrifyingly different to her own . . .

Number one bestseller Val McDermid returns with a breathtakingly atmospheric and exhilarating novel.

If you enjoyed Broken Ground, don't miss the first in a new series from the Queen of Crime. 1979 is out now, introducing the unforgettable Allie Burns.

Praise for Queen of Crime Val McDermid:

'It grabs the reader by the throat and never lets go' Daily Mail

'As good a psychological thriller as it is possible to get' Sunday Express

'One of today's most accomplished crime writers' Literary Review

'McDermid remains unrivalled' Observer

'The queen of crime is still at the top of her game' Independent

This is the fifth book in the bestselling Karen Pirie series.

Fiction & Literature
23 August
Little, Brown Book Group

Customer Reviews

Choosey thank goodness ,

Broken Ground

Characters are developed consistently while still able to surprise and shock. Not as breathtaking as Place of Execution but plenty to hold you to the end. Places come to life through detailed description. Interweaving time zones grounds the unfolding events in their murky past. The quality of her writing holds you to the last page.

jillianiain ,

Broken ground

Brilliant must get the others in this series

Clint Savage ,


The author’s simplistic prejudices spoil this book.

More Books by Val McDermid