Liverpool Lou Liverpool Lou

Liverpool Lou

A moving saga of family, love and chasing dreams

    • 4.0 • 12 Ratings
    • £2.99
    • £2.99

Publisher Description

Will she find the happiness she deserves?

Lyn Andrews' Liverpool Lou is an engrossing Merseyside saga spanning two world wars, following a young woman as she sets out to make her own way in the world, despite her aunt's determination to control her. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Annie Murray and Maureen Lee.


Babsey has always worked hard to provide for her family; she runs a greengrocers publicly and a money-lending business in private. Babsey makes sure that her family doesn't mix with the rougher people in the neighbourhood - she considers herself a cut above the local community. When her niece Louisa needs a home - her mother is dead, and her father at sea - Babsey does her duty and brings the girl into the household.

But Louisa doesn't quite fit in with Babsey's plans. Although life under Aunt Babsey's roof is comfortable, Louisa is acutely aware of the desperate poverty around her. And, as she grows up into a thoughtful young woman, the harsh realities of love and betrayal, war and death, make her determined to find her own way.
Louisa will eventually be made famous throughout her city - known for ever as Liverpool Lou. And she might just find love along the way...

What readers are saying about Liverpool Lou:

'Brilliant story... Could not put it down. Had me in tears'

'Just what you would expect from Lyn Andrews. Full of lifelike characters and good background knowledge. Really enjoyed it'

'One of the best books I've read'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2010
4 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
318
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books Like This

With Love From Ma Maguire With Love From Ma Maguire
2011
Come in Spinner Come in Spinner
2013
Lights of Liverpool Lights of Liverpool
2012
The Brightest Star in the Sky The Brightest Star in the Sky
2009
Bluebirds Bluebirds
2015
Secrets of the Heart Secrets of the Heart
2013

More Books by Lyn Andrews

A Moment in Time: A Short Story A Moment in Time: A Short Story
2015
Sunlight on the Mersey Sunlight on the Mersey
2012
A Secret in the Family A Secret in the Family
2010
The House on Lonely Street The House on Lonely Street
2010
My Sister's Child My Sister's Child
2010
Beyond a Misty Shore Beyond a Misty Shore
2011

Customers Also Bought

A Mansion by the Mersey A Mansion by the Mersey
2010
All That Glistens All That Glistens
2010
Like Father Like Daughter Like Father Like Daughter
2010
Liverpool Lies Liverpool Lies
2013
A Glimpse of the Mersey A Glimpse of the Mersey
2012
A View Across the Mersey A View Across the Mersey
2017