• £1.99

Publisher Description

With the powerful aid of friendship, a young woman learns to love again after the tragedies of the Second World War.

Joan Jonker's first instalment of the Eileen Gillmoss series, When One Door Closes, is a heart-warming saga of love and laughter in the direst of circumstances, and promises to be an unforgettable tale. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court.


It's May 1941 and Liverpool is taking a hammering from the German bombers. For young Mary Bradshaw and her widowed mother life is full of rationing, blackouts and the wail of the air-raid siren. Despite the gloom, Mary's heart is light as she counts her blessings - she's got her loving mother and Bob, her soldier boyfriend whom she adores and hopes to marry soon. During the worst air raid Liverpool has ever suffered, fate deals Mary the first of many cruel blows it has in store for her. She is devastated as her whole world collapses. But Mary doesn't have to face the knocks alone. Her best friend Eileen has a heart and a sense of humour as big as her eighteen stone body - heaven help anyone who hurts her mate! Harry is the boy from up the road who's loved Mary since they were kids and he'll not desert her now. Soon Mary finds that when one door closes, another one really does open.

What readers have been saying about When One Door Closes:

'This is the first Joan Jonker book I have read and it is one of the best books I have ever read. It is a warm-hearted story set in Liverpool during the blitz. The characters draw you in and you feel as if you know them'

'A warm hearted, captivating story of life in Liverpool during the blitz. You feel as though you are actually involved in the story, as the characters are so warm and friendly - a totally absorbing read'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
May 24
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
292
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
2.5
MB

More Books by Joan Jonker