• €2.49

Publisher Description

A crime you'll always remember. A detective you'll never forget.

A young girl is found dead. A prostitute is murdered. And the strangest, youngest detective in the South Wales Major Crimes Unit is about to face the fiercest test of her short career.

A woman and her six-year-old daughter are killed with chilling brutality in a dingy flat. The only clue: the platinum bank card of a long-dead tycoon, found amidst the squalor.

DC Griffiths has already proved herself dedicated to the job, but there's another side to her she is less keen to reveal. Something to do with a mysterious two-year gap in her CV, her strange inability to cry - and a disconcerting familiarity with corpses.

Fiona is desperate to put the past behind her but as more gruesome killings follow, the case leads her back into those dark places in her own mind where another dead girl is waiting to be found...

Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:

'I have to say that in a lifetime of reading crime fiction I have never come across anyone quite like Fiona Griffiths . . . Read this book. Enjoy every syllable. Hold your breath, and tick off the weeks until the next one' Crime Fiction Lover

'Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure' Daily Mail

'Gritty, compelling...a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year' USA Today

'With Detective Constable Fiona 'Fi' Griffiths, Harry Bingham...finds a sweet spot in crime fiction...think Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander...[or] Lee Child's Jack Reacher... The writing is terrific' The Boston Globe

'This cleverly plotted police procedural introduces a likeable, maverick detective destined for a bestseller following' Choice

Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:
1. Talking to the Dead
2. Love Story, With Murders
3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths
4. This Thing of Darkness
5. The Dead House
6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)

If you're looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you've just found it.

** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **

Crime & Thrillers
21 June

Customer Reviews

artkavanagh ,

Deceptively formulaic procedural

The first novel in Harry Bingham’s series featuring DC Fiona Griffiths is a police procedural centring on the murders of women (and a six-year-old girl), people-and-drug-trafficking and some brutal violence. Its protagonist is a maverick detective with a deeply troubled past, a carefully chosen bundle of quirks and eccentricities and a strong disinclination to follow procedure. Sounds a bit formulaic, even hackneyed, doesn’t it?

Don’t worry. Bingham uses the formula simply as scaffolding. There is no mystery as to who committed the murders and the story’s surprises have to do with the interactions of the well drawn characters rather than with whodunnit-and-why. Fiona’s secret—or, rather, the first part of it, the part she knows about—turns out to be an extremely unusual one, yet I found her abnormal psychology very easy to sympathize with and (never thought I’d write this) to “relate” to. I enjoyed this a lot more than a bare description would have led me to expect.

More Books by Harry Bingham

Other Books in This Series