A Grand Old Time A Grand Old Time

A Grand Old Time

    • 4.4 • 70 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

‘Brilliantly funny, emotional and uplifting’ Miranda Dickinson

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a care home. She may be seventy-five and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet. And so, one morning, Evie walks out of Sheldon Lodge and sets off on a Great Adventure across Europe.

But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son Brendan and his wife Maura, who follow a trail of puzzling text messages to bring her home.

When they finally catch up with her, there are shocks in store . . . because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie certainly has not.

'Lovely . . . a book that assures that life is far from over at seventy' Cathy Hopkins, bestselling author of The Kicking the Bucket List

’Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life… a wonderful escapade’ Fiona Gibson, bestselling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left

Reviews

‘Brilliantly funny, emotional and uplifting’ – Miranda Dickinson

'Lovely . . . a book that assures that life is far from over at seventy' – Cathy Hopkins, bestselling author of The Kicking the Bucket List

’Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life… a wonderful escapade’ – Fiona Gibson, bestselling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left

About the author

Judy Leigh completed an MA in Professional Writing at Falmouth University in 2015, leaving her career of 20 years as an Advanced Skills teacher of Theatre Studies. She has had several stories published in magazines, including The Feminist Wire, The Purple Breakfast Review and You is for University. She has also trained as a Reiki healer, written a vegan recipe blog and set up a series of Shakespeare Festivals to enable young people to perform the Bard's work on stage.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2018
April 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

brightlit ,

Loved it

A fresh take on living life in senior years. Finding the strength to experience new things, new friends, a new life.

1 Banker ,

Sweet & endearing

Sad sometimes. Uplifting at others.

sometimers3 ,

A Grand Old Time

I really enjoyed this book. Didn’t want it to end. I felt like all I needed to make the time to read it complete was a box of chocolates, a glass of wine and a hot tub. Evie was one gutsy lady and loved life. I was her cheerleader through the whole book.

More Books Like This

The Little Book Café The Little Book Café
2018
The Little Book Café The Little Book Café
2018
A Home in the Sun A Home in the Sun
2021
My Love at Last My Love at Last
2015
The Drifter The Drifter
2016
The Beach Cottage The Beach Cottage
2022

More Books by Judy Leigh

The Old Girls' Network The Old Girls' Network
2020
The Golden Girls' Getaway The Golden Girls' Getaway
2021
Five French Hens Five French Hens
2019
Chasing the Sun Chasing the Sun
2021
The Silver Ladies Do Lunch The Silver Ladies Do Lunch
2023
The Golden Oldies' Book Club The Golden Oldies' Book Club
2022

Customers Also Bought

Sunrise With The Silver Surfers Sunrise With The Silver Surfers
2023
A Vintage Vacation A Vintage Vacation
2023
The Old Ducks' Club The Old Ducks' Club
2021
The Widows' Wine Club The Widows' Wine Club
2023
Queen Bee Queen Bee
2023
Sisters Behaving Badly Sisters Behaving Badly
2021