• $9.99

Publisher Description


One of Time Magazine’s 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time
Book two in the New York Times bestselling series
USA Today bestseller
A Wall Street Journal bestseller

Spectacular.”Entertainment Weekly

Fresh and exciting...Tahir has shown a remarkable talent for penning complex villains.”A.V. Club

"Even higher stakes than its predecessor… thrilling." Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[An] action-packed, breathlessly paced story.” —Booklist, starred review

Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir's AN EMBER IN THE ASHES told the story of Laia, a slave fighting for her family, and Elias, a young soldier fighting for his freedom.

Now, in A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT, Elias and Laia are running for their lives.

After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.
Laia is determined to break into Kauf—the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison—to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars' survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.
But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene—Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike.

Bound to Marcus's will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own—one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape...and kill them both.

Young Adult
August 30
Penguin Young Readers Group

Customer Reviews

lil-nina ,


What a great book!

ilovegoodbooks(butwhodoesnt) ,

Why Laia. Why.

*annoyed angst*

(Anonymous- AVOID THIS APP) ,

A series worth re-reading countless times

Sabaa Tahir's sequel to the amazing “An Ember in the Ashes”, "A Torch Against the Night" tells the story of Laia and Elias’ continued escape from Blackcliff Academy in Serra where the evil elite soldiers (Masks) are trained for the Martial Empire. Laia, a Scholar and former Scholar revolutionary informant as a voluntary slave to the supremely evil Blackcliff Commandant, is determined to save her brother, Darin, from the worst prison in the Empire, Kauf. Elias, former Mask in Training and former Aspirant in the Emperor Trials, gave Laia his oath to help save Darin when she rescued Elias from his execution for failing the Emperor Trials. As they cross the empire, they have to stay hidden from those tracking them: Elias’ evil mother, the Blackcliff Commandant; Helene, Elias’ best friend from Blackcliff and the new Blood Shrike (lead executioner to the new Emperor); and all of the previously mythical horrors recently unleashed by the Nightbringer, who wants to destroy all Scholars. Helene, who was extensively tortured for Elias’ escape, is ordered to hunt Elias down while fearing the new Emperor’s designs on her family if she fails. The future of the Martial Empire and its enemies are at stake.
"A Torch Against the Night" is the incredible five star sequel to the amazing book, “An Ember in the Ashes”. The worldbuilding from the first book grows to include the Tribes. I like how Tahir portrays the strengths of each character while simultaneously showing how they cope with their previous or ongoing traumas. I like Laia’s quiet inner strength and Elias’ determination, like a legendary soldier committed to his just cause. Notwithstanding Helene’s position, it is easy to feel moved by her desire to serve her Empire, despite its transgressions (especially against her). The incorporation of the mythical horrors of the Scholar Empire helps this story transcend a typical 4 star series and become a series worth re-reading countless times.
My opinion is solely my own, but I do want to thank Goodreads, Penguin Teen, and Sabaa Tahir for a copy of this awesome book.

More Books by Sabaa Tahir

Other Books in This Series