• $13.99

Publisher Description

Oxford in 2060 is a chaotic place, with scores of time-traveling historians being sent into the past. Michael Davies is prepping to go to Pearl Harbor. Merope Ward is coping with a bunch of bratty 1940 evacuees and trying to talk her thesis adviser into letting her go to VE-Day. Polly Churchill’s next assignment will be as a shopgirl in the middle of London’s Blitz. But now the time-travel lab is suddenly canceling assignments and switching around everyone’s schedules. And when Michael, Merope, and Polly finally get to World War II, things just get worse. For there they face air raids, blackouts, and dive-bombing Stukas—to say nothing of a growing feeling that not only their assignments but the war and history itself are spiraling out of control. Because suddenly the once-reliable mechanisms of time travel are showing significant glitches, and our heroes are beginning to question their most firmly held belief: that no historian can possibly change the past.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
February 2
Random House Publishing Group
Penguin Random House LLC

Customer Reviews

Menetheran ,

No end

This is actually quite an enjoyable book until you turn the last page and discover it's over with no resolution to any of the key questions. Otherwise well written. I rented it from the library; would have been very irritated had I paid full price for it. Having said that, I'll probably check out the next one.

Sdfrdeghfrjed ,


Confusing with no end

drshabazz1 ,

Full of dead ends

Frustrating. The characters faced problem after problem, and they wasted A LOT of time pursuing solutions that ultimately never worked out. The historical accuracy was great, and I actually learned quite a bit about the blitz, but I was constantly tempted to skip ahead to see how it ends. Suddenly it was over, and there was no satisfying resolution. I need closure so badly, that I felt forced to read the next book. Good concept, and good resolution in the end of the series, but it could have been more exciting.

More Books by Connie Willis

Other Books in This Series