The Ordeal of the Haunted Room The Ordeal of the Haunted Room
Book 11.5 - Chronicles of St. Mary's

The Ordeal of the Haunted Room

    • 4.8 • 44 Ratings
    • $0.99
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

A Christmas ghost story - Chronicles of St Mary's style! For fans of Doctor Who and Jasper Fforde... and A Christmas Carol.

Where better for the annual festive jump than the chance to experience a real Victorian Christmas?

On the longest night of 1895, a terrible storm rages above Harewood Hall. Max, Markham and an injured Peterson are welcomed in by the Harewood family, but soon realise that, in true St Mary's style, they couldn't have arrived at a better moment. For tonight marks the Ordeal of the Haunted Room. Dum ... dum ... dum ...

Every Harewood heir must endure one terrifying night alone in the Haunted Room before he can inherit the family seat. Legend says that a ghost will murder anyone who isn't the true successor.

Henry Harewood's ordeal will begin at midnight and end at dawn, but it isn't long before everything goes horribly wrong...

Readers love Jodi Taylor:

'Once in a while, I discover an author who changes everything... Jodi Taylor and her protagonista Madeleine "Max" Maxwell have seduced me'

'A great mix of British proper-ness and humour with a large dollop of historical fun'

'Addictive. I wish St Mary's was real and I was a part of it'

'Jodi Taylor has an imagination that gets me completely hooked'

'A tour de force'

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2020
December 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
8.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Bitsy Buckwild ,

Great Story

I’ve loved all the St Mary’s series and this has been no exception.

However, this e-version has a confusing typo in the very first sentence. It states that the jump is to 1985, which should have been 1895. I was confused about the “showing ankle” part until approximately 15 pages in. It was a good chuckle.

More Books Like This

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year The Most Wonderful Time of the Year
2023
30 Suspense and Thriller Masterpieces you have to read in your life (Best Navigation, Active TOC) (A to Z Classics) 30 Suspense and Thriller Masterpieces you have to read in your life (Best Navigation, Active TOC) (A to Z Classics)
2017
The M.R. James Megapack The M.R. James Megapack
2013
The Time Traveler's Almanac The Time Traveler's Almanac
2014
Infinities Infinities
2011
Two Hundred and Twenty-One Baker Streets Two Hundred and Twenty-One Baker Streets
2014

More Books by Jodi Taylor

Just One Damned Thing After Another Just One Damned Thing After Another
2019
A Catalogue of Catastrophe A Catalogue of Catastrophe
2022
Doing Time Doing Time
2019
A Symphony of Echoes A Symphony of Echoes
2019
Hard Time Hard Time
2020
Hope for the Best Hope for the Best
2019

Customers Also Bought

The Untold Story The Untold Story
2021
The Dark Archive The Dark Archive
2020
The Secret Chapter The Secret Chapter
2020
Grave Importance Grave Importance
2019
The Mortal Word The Mortal Word
2018
The Lost Plot The Lost Plot
2018

Other Books in This Series

Another Time, Another Place Another Time, Another Place
2021
The Toast of Time The Toast of Time
2021
A Catalogue of Catastrophe A Catalogue of Catastrophe
2022
The Good, The Bad and The History The Good, The Bad and The History
2023
Lights! Camera! Mayhem! Lights! Camera! Mayhem!
2024
Just One Damned Thing After Another Just One Damned Thing After Another
2019