Cold Comfort Cold Comfort
Book 2 - Gunnhildur Mystery

Cold Comfort

A chilling and atmospheric crime thriller full of twists

    • 3.8 • 5 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

'Superior crime fiction set in Iceland' The Times

'As chilling as an Icelandic winter' S. J. Bolton

Following her promotion and working now from Reykjavik, Gunnhildur is given responsibility for two cases - the first in tracking down an escaped convict who's keen to settle old scores, and the other, the murder of a TV fitness presenter in her city centre apartment.

With the police short staffed and underfunded following the financial crash, Gunnhildur and her team set about delving into the backgrounds of both, where they uncover some unwelcome secrets and some influential friends of both who have no wish to be in the public eye.

Set in an Iceland that is coming to terms with the deepening recession, Gunnhildur has to take stock of the whirlwind changes that have taken place as she investigates criminals at opposite ends of the social scale as some uncomfortable links appear between the two cases.

The second dark and atmospheric thriller in Quentin Bates's Icelandic crime series. A chilling page-turner perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Søren Sveistrup's The Chestnut Man.

Praise for Quentin Bates:

'A great read - leaves you craving the next installment' Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

'A perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire' The Bookbag

'Well written and absorbing' Woman's Way

'Captures the chilly spirit of Nordic crime fiction . . . Fans of Arnaldur Indridason's Reykjavík mysteries will want to add Bates to their reading lists' Booklist

'[A] crackling fiction debut ... palpable authenticity' Publishers Weekly

'A superb new series' Eurocrime

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2012
March 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Book Group
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1
MB

More Books Like This

Spectrum Spectrum
2014
Betrayal Betrayal
2021
The Killing 2 The Killing 2
2013
Liberation Movements Liberation Movements
2010
A Change of Circumstance A Change of Circumstance
2022
Crocodile Tears Crocodile Tears
2021

More Books by Quentin Bates

Frozen Assets Frozen Assets
2011
Cold as Hell Cold as Hell
2021
Frozen Out Frozen Out
2011
Cold Steal Cold Steal
2014
Summerchill Summerchill
2015
Cold Malice Cold Malice
2020

Customers Also Bought

Cage Cage
2019
For the Lost For the Lost
2022
Trap Trap
2018
For the Dead For the Dead
2020
Death By Water (Oslo Crime Files 2) Death By Water (Oslo Crime Files 2)
2015
Killed Killed
2017

Other Books in This Series

Winterlude Winterlude
2013
Chilled to the Bone Chilled to the Bone
2013
Cold Steal Cold Steal
2014
Summerchill Summerchill
2015
Thin Ice Thin Ice
2016
Cold Breath Cold Breath
2018