East End Angel

a heart-warming and nostalgic family saga about love, loss and war

    • 4.0 • 1 Rating
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga set at the heart of wartime London, from the bestselling author of A Wartime Christmas. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin
 
'Surely one of the best saga writers of her time' – Rosie Clarke

June 1941, Isle of Dogs, London.

In the dark days following the Blitz, happiness visits young Pearl Jenkins as she celebrates her marriage to Jim Nesbitt. But what should be a joyful occasion is marred when a fight breaks out between Jim and Ricky Winters, an unwelcome visitor from Pearl's past, and to Pearl's horror, the new beau of her wayward younger sister Ruby.

Increasingly uneasy at staying home while other men fight for their country, Jim enlists, leaving Pearl at home - alone, pregnant, and at Ricky's mercy. Together, Pearl and Ruby must bring up baby Cynthia while struggling to make ends meet and survive the bombings. And all the time, Pearl must hide the dark secret she harbours, one that would ruin her marriage and tear the two sisters apart . . .

When tragedy strikes both on the home front and in the trenches, will Pearl fight like never before to keep her family safe?

 
Praise for CAROL RIVERS:

'A gripping page turner' - LEAH FLEMING

'Brings the East End to life - family loyalties, warring characters and broken dreams. Superb' - ELIZABETH GILL
 

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2010
November 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
512
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster UK
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books Like This

2020
2013
2012
2011
2011
2013

More Books by Carol Rivers

2013
2013
2010
2012
2013
2015

Customers Also Bought

2016
2012
2010
2014
2011
2011