Heart of Smoke Heart of Smoke

Heart of Smoke

The Complete Collection

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

One will betray her. One will save her. One will destroy her world.

The Princess Trials meets The Hunger Games in this new paranormal dystopia boxset.

Do the work, steal the goods, keep her sister alive―a simple plan Lanni has been clinging to. With the city burning around her and vampires hiding in the shadows, making it until morning is the best she can hope for.

But order in the city is crumbling, and the thin safety that’s kept Lanni alive won’t be enough to protect her family. The people who live in the glittering glass domes―lording over the city, safe from the dangers of the outside world―have grown tired of the factory filth marring their perfect apocalypse.

When the new reign of chaos threatens her sister, Lanni faces a horrible choice―accept the fate she was born to, or join the enemy she’s sworn to destroy.

Heart of Smoke: The Complete Collection includes Heart of Smoke, Soul of Glass, Eye of Stone, and Ash of Ages.

Praise for Heart of Smoke

“A worthy successor to The Hunger Games!” – Amazon Reviewer

“The pacing reminded me of early Brandon Sanderson novels. Highly recommend!” – Amazon Reviewer

“Powerful, raw, and eye-opening.” – Amazon Reviewer


Heart of Smoke is a young adult, paranormal romance series that weaves vampires and werewolves into a dystopian society, creating a post-apocalyptic, end of the world adventure. Whether you’re in the mood for love triangles, a friends to lovers twist, or just crave young adult fiction books that feature girls in STEM, Heart of Smoke is an apocalyptic sci-fi YA fans will love. With runaways, orphans, and science fiction feats of genetic engineering that will change your view of the apocalypse, this is a series you’ll be dying to binge!

This complete series of vampire novels is also available in paperback.


Heart of Smoke: The Complete Collection is perfect for fans of Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth, Victoria Aveyard, Stephenie Meyer, Heidi Catherine, K. A. Riley, Kyla Stone, Kortney Keisel, and Marissa Meyer.

Young Adult
April 19
Ink Worlds Press
Megan O'Russell

Customer Reviews

Yogamom0711 ,

A great fantasy series, action packed and engrossing

4.5 Stars for the entire series! I’m going to keep this review spoiler free, for the sake of the series, since it’s four books, and I don’t want to ruin the ride for anyone! This is a great post-apocalyptic, dystopian society series that starts out in on of the poor, less fortunate, forsaken cities that support the dome communities, which are inhabited any those with money and power. Lanni lives her life to protect her sister, and that is the absolute one consistent through the entire series. In everything she does, keeping her sister safe is her number one thought and priority. Lanni has very few people she trusts in her life, for good reason. Her life is a constant of fear and labor, trying to claw and fight to find ways to survive in the ash and sooted atmosphere, an environment not truly fit for habitation, but forced to work to support the domes created by the Incorporation, which are mini ecosystems created in an effort to save mankind long enough to outlast the environmental disasters. On top of the threat of violence by dome guards, there is the threat of the vampires that inhabit the darkness.

As things quickly fall apart in the city, Lanni finds herself and her sister essentially kidnapped and put on a transport to a dome community far away from the one their city supports. It’s highly illegal for someone not born in the domes to live in them, so they are forced to take on false personas and lie about their pasts in order to fit in and not raise any suspicion. But the path to the domes isn’t easy or safe, and once their in the domes, there are so many red flags and warning signs about the supposed utopian society. Lanni has a very difficult time in trusting anyone, as would be expected. She has conversations in her head with the best friend she was forced to leave behind in the city as a way to work through her frustrations and fears. Slowly she starts to let people in, and a small “found family” is created for Lanni and her sister within the dome community. Lanni also finds herself romantically entangled with three different boys in the dome, even if she doesn’t feel strongly towards all of them, she develops different connections to each of them that end up shaping her in very different ways. But the building rebellion of the dome residents continues to grow, and Lanni finds herself right in the middle of it.

There is a fast paced series, with a lot of action and world building. The relationship between the city dwellers and the dome dwellers is seeded in a lot of hate and fear, and as things progress, it’s something that they all have to deal with in order to survive. The more we learn about the Incorporation, the more nefarious it becomes, and as things boil over, the rebellion takes center stage. In her deep need to protect her sister, Lanni is manipulated into doing things on both sides that she doesn’t truly want to do, but feels that she doesn’t have a choice. Her struggle is at the heart of everything, her desire at times to just give up battling with her need to protect her little sister. She doesn’t suddenly develop great powers, or become a strong rebel leader or anything, this isn’t that kind of story. Her story is one of survival, and what you do and sacrifice to survive, at any cost. Even the ending, while technically an HEA, isn’t all hearts and flowers. It’s real, and raw, and it feels perfect for the series. Overall, the four books create a fantastic arc, action packed, filled with every emotion, and a lot of hope.

More Books Like This

Soul of Glass Soul of Glass
Eye of Stone Eye of Stone
Bloodjinn Bloodjinn
Sorcery Sorcery
Capture Capture
Showing Mercy Showing Mercy

More Books by Megan O'Russell

Inker and Crown Inker and Crown
The Tethering The Tethering
The Cursebound Thief The Cursebound Thief
Ember and Stone Ember and Stone
Girl of Glass Girl of Glass
When Worlds Begin When Worlds Begin