• $7.99

Publisher Description

Caught in a wicked game of cat and mouse, Detective Helen Grace finds herself trapped among the hunted in the darkest thriller yet from the international bestselling author of Little Boy Blue and Eeny Meeny.
Framed for a murder she didn’t commit...
As one of HM Prison Holloway’s most high-profile new inmates, Helen Grace has a target on her back and nowhere to hide. She has made a long list of enemies over the course of her career—some are incarcerated within these very walls. When one of Helen’s fellow prisoners is found mutilated and murdered in her own locked cell, it’s clear that the killer is someone on the inside.
But time is running out for Helen as she races to expose the person who framed her, and the body count in the prison starts to climb. Helen will need to draw on all her investigative skills and instincts to catch the serial killer behind these murders and discover the truth—unless the killer finds her first.

Mysteries & Thrillers
October 10
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Sixth book in D.I. Helen Grace series

Hide and Seek by M.J. Arlidge is the sixth book in D.I. Helen Grace series. Helen Grace is behind bars in Holloway Prison and she is in general population. Helen needs to find a way to stay alive until the trial or until Charlie Brooks can find the real killer—Robert Stonehill. Just when Helen thinks her situation cannot get any worse, a body turns up in the next cell. Grace (being Grace) cannot help but investigate the crime. Then the killer strikes again. Grace needs to work quickly to find the culprit before they kill again. Making things more difficult is Annie, a gang leader, bent on causing Helen harm. Charlie is working quickly to locate Robert Stonehill and prove Grace’s innocence. Charlie is risking her job to help her friend. Helen and Charlie are racing against the clock. Will Helen make it out of Holloway alive? Can Charlie find Robert Stonehill in time to save Helen? Who is killing the female prisoners in Holloway?

Hide and Seek is masterful. M.J. Arlidge has done it again with Hide and Seek. I found it well-written with a complex mystery and a fast pace. There is plenty of action, suspense and twists. The author keeps a reader guessing in this one (it was delightful). I suggest that you read the books in the D.I. Helen Grace series in order. The books in the series build on one another. What happens in Hide and Seek is the result of what occurred in Little Boy Blue. Helen is a complex character (intelligent, resilient, good instincts) with many layers (we have only scratched the surface in the first six books). We get to see a different side of Helen in this story. I was glad to see Charlie get more play in Hide and Seek. She is also strong, smart, and feisty. The action ramps up toward the end of the story, and I was glued to my e-reader. I did not stop reading until I finished the book (I was riveted). M.J. Arlidge keeps readers on the edge of their seats. I am giving Hide and Seek 5 out of 5 stars (I loved it). I have both the book and the audiobook (allowed me to listen to the story on the go). The narrator did a wonderful job. If you enjoy psychological thrillers/suspense novels, then Hide and Seek is for you. I am eager to read the next installment in the D.I. Helen Grace series.

More Books by M. J. Arlidge


Other Books in This Series