• $1.99

Publisher Description

When an artisanal baker is accused of murder, her sleuthing student rises to the occasion . . .

Everyone swears by Yeast of Eden, the Mexican bread shop in town. But tonight, the only thing on the menu is la muerte . . .

Struggling photographer Ivy Culpepper has lots of soul-searching to do since returning to seaside Santa Sofia, California. That is, until the thirty-six-year-old enters a bread making class at Yeast of Eden. Whether it's the aroma of fresh conchas in the oven, or her instant connection with owner Olaya Solis, Ivy just knows the missing ingredients in her life are hidden among the secrets of Olaya's bakery . . .

But Ivy's spirits crumble when a missing classmate is suddenly discovered dead in her car. Even more devastating, the prime suspect is Olaya Solis herself. Doubting the woman could commit such a crime, Ivy embarks on a murder investigation of her own to prove her innocence and seize the real killer. As she follows a deadly trail of crumbs around town, Ivy must trust her gut like never before—or someone else could be toast!

Mysteries & Thrillers
February 28
Kensington Books
Kensington Publishing Corp.

Customer Reviews

Jennie.Reads ,

Great start

This is such a fun start!

After the death of her mother, Ivy is back in her hometown. She gets invited to take a baking class at a bread shop and finds new friends. When one of those new friends ends up murdered, Ivy won't rest until she solves the mystery. And when she finds connections to her mother's death, will Ivy be able to solve both mysteries?

I really liked reading this book. It was fun and I loved the diversity. I especially liked that the diversity wasn't forced. It felt natural. I liked all of the characters. I loved the stand-in moms that Ivy was starting to get close to. I loved her father and brother. I was totally surprised by the ending. Throughout the whole book, I totally suspected everyone! But the end took me by surprise. I need to read the next in this series immediately!

More Books by Winnie Archer

Other Books in This Series