Publisher Description


There's complicated. And there's Rowen Sterling. 

After numbing pain for the past five years with boys, alcohol, and all-around apathy, she finds herself on a Greyhound bus to nowhere Montana the summer after she graduates high school. Her mom agreed to front the bill to Rowen’s dream art school only if Rowen proves she can work hard and stay out of trouble at Willow Springs Ranch. Cooking breakfast at the crack of dawn for a couple dozen ranch hands and mucking out horse stalls are the last things in the world Rowen wants to spend her summer doing.

Until Jesse Walker saunters into her life wearing a pair of painted-on jeans, a cowboy hat, and a grin that makes something in her chest she’d thought was frozen go boom-boom. Jesse’s like no one else, and certainly nothing like her. He’s the bright and shiny to her dark and jaded.

Rowen knows there’s no happily-ever-after for the golden boy and the rebel girl—happily-right-now is a stretch—so she tries to forget and ignore the boy who makes her feel things she’s not sure she’s ready to feel. But the more she pushes him away, the closer he seems to get. The more she convinces herself she doesn’t care, the harder she falls.

When her dark secrets refuse to stay locked behind the walls she’s kept up for years, Rowen realizes it’s not just everyone else she needs to be honest with. It’s herself.

Young Adult
May 7
Nicole Williams
Nicole Williams

Customer Reviews

Mcollinsyosha ,

Loved it!

Read this book in 4 hours. Loved every second of it :) hoping for a sequel!!! I would love to find out how everything works out between rowen and her mother!

sp22707 ,

I want a sequel

I really hope there will be a sequel to this story!! It was so great!!

1046reads ,

Cliche, Exhausting, Not Worth It

I'm sorry, but this is simply a poorly written book. The characters are unimaginative, the plot and themes are cliche, and there was nothing about it that made me want to keep reading. Overall, the writing itself was simple and poor, except when it went into very intimate details about sex and kissing. I understand that this is a romance novel but personally I don't enjoy being made aware of every step in the characters' intercourse. Did not enjoy this book at all.

More Books by Nicole Williams

Other Books in This Series