Middlemere Middlemere

Middlemere

A spellbinding novel of love, loyalty and the ties that bind

    • 4.4 • 8 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

When a family is forced to leave its beloved home, the sense of injustice never dies...

Middlemere is a compelling tale of one family and their quest for independence from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.


The Coles have lived in Middlemere for half a century. When, in 1942, they are threatened with eviction, they flee the house. But not before eight-year-old Romy, hiding in a cupboard, sees her father shot dead.

Years later Romy, now almost nineteen, is quick, clever and single-minded. She schemes to restore the family fortunes, to rescue her mother from drudgery and to protect her brother, Jem, a charming scoundrel who is always in trouble. Most of all, she longs to escape the poverty and narrowness of her surroundings. A chance meeting with Mirabel Plummer, owner of the exclusive London hotel, The Trelawney, is about to change Romy's life for ever...

What readers are saying about Judith Lennox:

'Ideal escapism'

'[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings'

'Ms Lennox's writing is truly amazing, and creates characters that remain with me after the last page is turned'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
May 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
512
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
3.4
MB

More Books Like This

Written on Glass Written on Glass
2015
Short Story Masterpieces by American Women Writers Short Story Masterpieces by American Women Writers
2014
Stories Stories
1978
A Spot of Folly A Spot of Folly
2018
Through a Glass Darkly Through a Glass Darkly
2020
The Collected Stories of Elizabeth Bowen The Collected Stories of Elizabeth Bowen
2006

More Books by Judith Lennox

The Winter House The Winter House
2015
The Jeweller's Wife The Jeweller's Wife
2015
The Dark-Eyed Girls The Dark-Eyed Girls
2015
Catching the Tide Catching the Tide
2011
One Last Dance One Last Dance
2014
Summer at Seastone Summer at Seastone
2023

Customers Also Bought

Island in the East Island in the East
2017
Under an Amber Sky Under an Amber Sky
2010
Days of Hope Days of Hope
2010
A Mansion by the Mersey A Mansion by the Mersey
2010
The Price of Love The Price of Love
2012
A Widow's Courage A Widow's Courage
2020