• $4.99

Publisher Description

In this fast-paced dystopian thrill ride from New York Times–bestselling author Amy Tintera, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Legend, and Divergent, a seventeen-year-old girl returns from death as a Reboot and is trained as an elite crime-fighting soldier . . . until she is given an order she refuses to obey.

Wren Connolly died five years ago, only to Reboot after 178 minutes. Now she is one of the deadliest Reboots around . . . unlike her newest trainee, Callum 22, who is practically still human. As Wren tries to teach Callum how to be a soldier, his hopeful smile works its way past her defenses. Unfortunately, Callum’s big heart also makes him a liability, and Wren is ordered to eliminate him. To save Callum, Wren will have to risk it all.

Wren’s captivating voice and unlikely romance with Callum will keep readers glued to the page in Amy Tintera’s high-stakes alternate reality, and diving straight into its action-packed sequel, Rebel.

Don’t miss Amy Tintera’s new fantasy series, Ruined—full of epic stakes, sweeping romance, hidden identities, and scheming siblings.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2013
May 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperTeen
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.3
MB
AUDIENCE
Eighth Grade

Customer Reviews

Gillean Ardis ,

I LOVE THIS BOOK

My friend recently lent me this book and I just finished it yesterday and I LOVED it it's simply amazing no doubt the best book I've ever read I loved the romance between Callum and Wren I couldn't help but smile while reading it and but there are really sad parts in it 5 stars for sure

JustBecause8 ,

Surprised I liked it

It was hard not to love this! It was such an original idea.

So what is it about?

After you die there is a possibility that you will reboot. Rebooting is basically coming back to life. Every reboot is given a number and that number reflects how many minutes it took the person to come back to life after dying. It is believed that the longer it takes for you to come back the less human like you are.

There is a facility where all reboots go to become soldiers and they stay there until they either die again for good or turn twenty. It is still factually unknown what happens to the reboots who make it to twenty, but it is an unsaid belief that they are killed.

Wren is a 178. She is a strict follower of the rules and she actually enjoys what she does. When she decides to train Callum, a 22, on a whim to see if she can keep him alive longer then the other trainers... everything starts to change.

The characters:

Wren was actually an interesting character. You wouldn't think that someone who is so void of emotion would be, but she had her moments.

And Callum, of course, was adorable. I think I fell in love with his smile. It's sad that even through a book a smile can draw me in. Lesson number one: A true smile has the ability to change everything. At least that's what this book has me believing haha.

Ever's story made me sad. At the start of this novel I felt myself gravitating towards her. She was very likable and completely the opposite of Wren. I think having her in the story helped the reader put things into perspective.

The only thing that turned me off from this novel was the addition of the disease. I'm kind of tired of that as a fall back for the strange and unusual things authors come up with. But that's such a small detail of the story. Overall I thought that this was pretty awesome. It's definitely worth taking a chance on.

Lalalalala3000 ,

Best book I will ever read

My absolute favorite book of all time.

More Books by Amy Tintera

Other Books in This Series