The Bird and the Blade The Bird and the Blade

The Bird and the Blade

    • 4.7 • 7 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from author Megan Bannen.

Enslaved in Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom . . . until the kingdom is conquered by enemy forces and she finds herself an unlikely conspirator in the escape of Prince Khalaf and his irascible father across the vast Mongol Empire.

On the run, with adversaries on all sides and an endless journey ahead, Jinghua hatches a scheme to use the Kipchaks’ exile to return home, a plan that becomes increasingly fraught as her feelings for Khalaf evolve into an impossible love.

Jinghua’s already dicey prospects take a downward turn when Khalaf seeks to restore his kingdom by forging a marriage alliance with Turandokht, the daughter of the Great Khan. As beautiful as she is cunning, Turandokht requires all potential suitors to solve three impossible riddles to win her hand—and if they fail, they die.

Jinghua has kept her own counsel well, but with Khalaf’s kingdom—and his very life—on the line, she must reconcile the hard truth of her past with her love for a boy who has no idea what she’s capable of . . . even if it means losing him to the girl who’d sooner take his life than his heart.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2018
June 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Balzer + Bray
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.5
MB
AUDIENCE
Eighth Grade

Customer Reviews

cc12005 ,

Loved it!!!

I love this story it’s just amazing. But I’m sad how it ended and that they never found out her big secret. She died with them all thinking her just a slave- a brave one- but still just a slave to them.

More Books Like This

Kingdom From Ashes Kingdom From Ashes
2015
The Cruelest Mercy The Cruelest Mercy
2021
Thirst No. 1 Thirst No. 1
2012
Forging Silver into Stars Forging Silver into Stars
2022
These Twisted Bonds These Twisted Bonds
2022
Spice Road Spice Road
2023

More Books by Megan Bannen

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy
2022
The Undermining of Twyla and Frank The Undermining of Twyla and Frank
2024
Soulswift Soulswift
2020
La Ballade funèbre de Hart et Mercy La Ballade funèbre de Hart et Mercy
2024
Corbellâme - La fin des idoles Corbellâme - La fin des idoles
2023

Customers Also Bought

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire
2020
Fourth Wing Fourth Wing
2023
A Court of Mist and Fury A Court of Mist and Fury
2016