The Case at Barton Manor The Case at Barton Manor
#1 - Mrs. Lillywhite Investigates

The Case at Barton Manor

    • 4.1 • 210 Ratings

Publisher Description

Not all widows are elderly...and not all ladies are proper.

If one more person gives Rosemary Lillywhite unwanted advice on when to stop mourning the loss of her beloved husband, she fears she will lose control of her sensibilities.

All she wants is to be left alone to drown her misery in a glass of gin and tonic, but when Grace Barton knocks on the door of her dead husband's investigative office, Rosemary faces a choice: come out of hiding or turn away someone in need of help.

As Grace recounts her tale of intrigue, Rosemary discovers a shared connection with the woman that has her accepting an invitation she'd just as soon turn down.

With her best friend--bright young thing Vera Blackburn--by her side, Rosemary trades her widow weeds for a party dress and heads to a fancy do at Barton Manor.

The drinks flow freely, but there's an undercurrent of unease until finally, the night ends in murder--one in which Rosemary's brother becomes the prime suspect!

What's worse, the handsome chief inspector on the case is a man she knows well: he was her husband's best mate, and he takes a dim view of lady detectives--or perhaps just of Rosemary becoming one.

What will it take for Rosemary to solve the crime before her brother hangs for a murder he didn't commit?

Book one in The Mrs. Lillywhite Investigates series.

Are you ready to escape to the roaring twenties? For fans of Beth Byers, Leighann Dobbs, Lee Strauss, and cozy historical murder mysteries.

A light, cozy mystery with no swearing, graphic scenes, or cliffhangers.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2023
September 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
211
Pages
PUBLISHER
Willow Hill Books
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
949.8
KB

Customer Reviews

Bev teacher ,

The Case at Barton Manor

I enjoyed the ending.

Ms. English Teacher ,

The Case at Barton Manor

Good. Twisty, clever, most enjoyable

Ten feet ,

Excellent who-done-it!

I really enjoyed the characters and the settings ( both the time period & the locations). The plot was well thought out.

More Books Like This

Sparkling Cyanide Sparkling Cyanide
2022
A Useful Woman A Useful Woman
2016
Fear in the Sunlight Fear in the Sunlight
2013
Witness on the Roof Witness on the Roof
2022
Down the Hatch Down the Hatch
2021
The Miss Silver Mysteries Volume Three The Miss Silver Mysteries Volume Three
2018

More Books by Emily Queen

A Homicide at Halloween A Homicide at Halloween
2023
An American Alibi An American Alibi
2023
Mrs. Lillywhite Investigates Books 7-9 Mrs. Lillywhite Investigates Books 7-9
2023
The Murder Next Door The Murder Next Door
2023
Death Down the Aisle Death Down the Aisle
2023
Death on the Isle of Love Death on the Isle of Love
2023

Customers Also Bought

Murder at Merisham Lodge: Miss Hart and Miss Hunter Investigate: Book 1 Murder at Merisham Lodge: Miss Hart and Miss Hunter Investigate: Book 1
2021
Thistlewood Manor: Murder at the Hedgerow (An Eliza Montagu Cozy Mystery—Book 1) Thistlewood Manor: Murder at the Hedgerow (An Eliza Montagu Cozy Mystery—Book 1)
2022
Seams like Murder Seams like Murder
2023
An Invitation To Murder An Invitation To Murder
2017
The Secret Life of Miss Mary Bennet The Secret Life of Miss Mary Bennet
2021
A Very English Murder A Very English Murder
2024

Other Books in This Series

The Murder Next Door The Murder Next Door
2023
Death on the Isle of Love Death on the Isle of Love
2023
A Body Among the Roses A Body Among the Roses
2023
A Murder Most Unlikely A Murder Most Unlikely
2023
Most Definitely Murder Most Definitely Murder
2023
Death Down the Aisle Death Down the Aisle
2023