The Gates of Troy The Gates of Troy
Book 2 - Adventures of Odysseus

The Gates of Troy

    • 4.1 • 16 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

War is coming – and nothing can stop it… 

Settled in his small island kingdom, Odysseus wants nothing more than to rule Ithaca in peace. Meanwhile his warrior friend Eperitus, frustrated at his quiet life, dreams of glory in battle.

But when Agamemnon’s fleet appears on the horizon, Odysseus knows that war is upon him. Helen of Sparta has been abducted by a Trojan prince and the armies of Greece are gathering.

As the greatest heroes flock to the crusade, only one is missing. Odysseus knows that without Achilles, the gates of Troy will never fall. He must use all his cunning to hunt him down and persuade him to join their cause…

From the Greek islands to the fearsome walls of Troy, this is a novel of pulse-racing battle and intrigue, perfect for readers of George R.R. Martin, Conn Iggulden and Tad Williams.

The Adventures of Odysseus

1. King of Ithaca
2. The Gates of Troy
3. The Armour of Achilles
4. The Oracles of Troy
5. The Voyages of Odysseus
6. Return to Ithaca

Praise for Glyn Iliffe

‘It has suspense, treachery, and bone-crunching action… It will leave fans of the genre eagerly awaiting the rest of the series’ Times Literary Supplement

'This is a must read for those who enjoy good old epic battles, chilling death scenes and the extravagance of ancient Greece’ Lifestyle Magazine

‘The reader does not need to be classicist to enjoy this epic and stirring tale. It makes a great novel’ Historical Novels Review

‘I found it utterly fascinating, the historic detail was excellent. This was an easy and enjoyable read, and I am looking forward to the next instalments. As a personal read I can absolutely recommend it’ Book Talk Bournemouth

‘An exciting story with plenty of action, and the requisite supernatural elements … if you are a fan of writers like Bernard Cornwell, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden you will enjoy this.’ Rachel Hyde, Myshelf.com

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
February 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
658
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
519.9
KB

Customer Reviews

Brad from Austin ,

Troy

It takes something for a writer to even say to himself, “I’m going to tell the story of the Trojan war, from beginning to end, over six books.” But then to actually pull it off is remarkable.

I am enjoying the series immensely. There’s an excess of description for my taste. Two entire chapters describing Troy. I get it. It’s Troy. You want to do it justice. But one chapter would have sufficed. The dialogue is rough at times and the narrative too formal at others. Still, reading this familiar story play out on a new canvas is mostly a good time.

More Books Like This

The Oracles of Troy The Oracles of Troy
2013
Gods and Heroes of Ancient Greece Gods and Heroes of Ancient Greece
2001
Spartan Spartan
2011
Shadow of the Eagle Shadow of the Eagle
2022
The Three Paradises The Three Paradises
2021
Emperor's Axe Emperor's Axe
2020

More Books by Glyn Iliffe

King of Ithaca King of Ithaca
2017
Son of Zeus Son of Zeus
2018
The Armour of Achilles The Armour of Achilles
2017
The Voyage of Odysseus The Voyage of Odysseus
2017
The Oracles of Troy The Oracles of Troy
2017
Return to Ithaca Return to Ithaca
2017

Customers Also Bought

Troy: Shield of Thunder Troy: Shield of Thunder
2007
Marching With Caesar-Avenging Varus Part II Marching With Caesar-Avenging Varus Part II
2019
Salamis Salamis
2015
Poseidon's Spear Poseidon's Spear
2012
The Great King The Great King
2014
The Falling Sword The Falling Sword
2019

Other Books in This Series

The Armour of Achilles The Armour of Achilles
2017
The Oracles of Troy The Oracles of Troy
2017
The Voyage of Odysseus The Voyage of Odysseus
2017
Return to Ithaca Return to Ithaca
2017
King of Ithaca King of Ithaca
2017