The Ivy Tree The Ivy Tree

The Ivy Tree

The beloved love story from the Queen of Romantic Mystery

    • 4.2 • 93 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports her readers to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition, and deceit - a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily Telegraph

'Mary Stewart is magic.' New York Times

Whitescar is a beautiful old house and farm situated in Roman Wall country. It will make a rich inheritance for its heirs, but in order to secure it, they enlist the help of a young woman named Mary who bears remarkable resemblance to missing Whitescar heiress, Annabel Winslow. Their deception will spark a powder-keg of ambition, obsession and long-dead love.

The ivy had reached for the tree and only the tree's upper branches managed to thrust the young gold leaves of early summer through the strangling curtain. Eventually the ivy would kill it . . .

'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

'The Ivy Tree has the ideal thriller blend of plot, suspense, character drawing and good writing' Daily Express

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2011
April 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
480
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hodder & Stoughton
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

GoddessofGumbo ,

A childhood favorite

Hmmm. Maybe this is the 4th time I’ve read this book since I discovered it in the library at age 15. I’m not sure what it is—the horses, the murderous jealous cousin, the tragic hero—but this is one of her most satisfying reads. I’m sure I’ll read it again five years from now, when I’m in need of the comfort of a good cozy romance.

Joerum62 ,

Gripping!

The Ivy Tree is a gripping tale of suspense, family intrigue and unrequited love that will have you eagerly turning every page! Some of the plot elements are hokey and defy reason, thus only 3 stars (should be 3 1/2). Getting past that quibble, a solid and enjoyable read!

More Books Like This

Long Shadows Long Shadows
2021
In Pale Battalions In Pale Battalions
2007
No Love Lost No Love Lost
2013
Play to the End Play to the End
2006
Erin Solomon Mysteries, Books 1 - 5 Erin Solomon Mysteries, Books 1 - 5
2015
Dark Light Dark Light
2019

More Books by Mary Stewart

Merlin Saga (Four book bundle of Crystal Cave, The Hollow Hills, The Last Enchantment and The Wicked Day) Merlin Saga (Four book bundle of Crystal Cave, The Hollow Hills, The Last Enchantment and The Wicked Day)
2011
The Moon-Spinners The Moon-Spinners
2011
Nine Coaches Waiting Nine Coaches Waiting
2011
This Rough Magic This Rough Magic
2011
Touch Not the Cat Touch Not the Cat
2011
Madam, Will You Talk? Madam, Will You Talk?
2011

Customers Also Bought

Black Amber Black Amber
2017
Hunter's Green Hunter's Green
2017
The Shivering Sands The Shivering Sands
2013
Window on the Square Window on the Square
2017
Nothing Venture Nothing Venture
2016
Silversword Silversword
2017