The Other Mothers The Other Mothers
Book 4 - A Detective Jo Fournier Novel

The Other Mothers

An absolutely gripping thriller with a shocking twist

    • 4.1 • 135 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

“I was 100% hooked right from the start… A non-stop, heart-pounding suspenseful read!… Captivated me from page one all the way through… WOW!!” Misty’s Corner Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



It’s a crisp spring morning when the small-town community around Briar Ridge Elementary School is shattered by devastating news. Bright and shy five-year-old Nicole has disappeared at recess.  



When the phone call comes, Gia Marchand is suddenly living every parent’s worst nightmare. She feels like time has stopped and she struggles to truly understand it: she dropped her daughter at the school gate this morning and now Nicole is gone. In her big house all alone, she breaks down. 


Her best friend was in the playground at recess but when Gia begs desperately for any details, the woman won’t look her in the eye. Surely her closest friend wouldn’t betray her? Then Detective Jo Fournier says her husband was in the school building this morning but now she can’t reach him. Gia is left completely alone with her grief.


As time slips away and Nicole hasn’t been found, Gia becomes utterly terrified: is she finally paying the price for a secret that she has been hiding for years? Or is someone she thought she could trust committing the ultimate betrayal? 


From USA Today bestseller M.M. Chouinard, The Other Mothers is a completely addictive psychological thriller that will not let you go until you turn the last heart-thumping page! Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Stepdaughter and The Girl on the Train.



Readers are utterly addicted to The Other Mothers!


Wow, wow, wow!!!!! I’m speechless. Did I really just read that????… I truly would’ve never guessed it in a million years.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Holy bucketsGrabs you by the throat and won’t let go. There are not enough stars to accurately label how genuinely excellent this book is.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Right off the bat you are pulled in and are immediately hooked… Took me a while to get my racing heart back under control again.” Once Upon A Time Book Blog ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


AddictiveHad me gripped from page oneI couldn’t stop reading… I can wholeheartedly recommend it.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Totally blew me away… I especially loved the ending. Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined it.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


A complete shockerAn absolute page-turner I could not put down.” Goodreads Reviewer


Absolutely thrilling from start to finish. A rollercoaster of a read. Heart thumpingly, stay-up-all-night-reading good. Loved this brilliant book.” Renita D’Silva, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Believe me you'll be stunnedAwesome.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
January 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
373
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

kfoster2323 ,

Easy to read and captivating story telling

Addicting series of books! I love that you NEVER know what will happen within the story line! It’s never a “dull or predictable” outcome and it brings in emotional connections and loss which always makes reading these books go SO fast! You won’t put this series down!

Longuny ,

The Other Mothers

This book was one of the best mysteries I’ve ever read. The “who done it” story grabbed you from the start and I found it hard to put down. Really everyone a suspect until the very end. I also liked that it was thoroughly explained at the end.
Great read!

KHHSC ,

Murder in the schoolyard!

At Briar Ridge school, a five year old girl doesn’t return from recess. Her lifeless body is found next to a dumpster. Detective Jo Fournier is summoned back from a required two week leave to lead the investigation even though she has a personal connection to the crime. Her two nieces are students at the school.

Interviews are first on Jo’s agenda. She expects to find a grieving mother but young Nicole’s mother Gia, surrounded by her friends Molly and Karen, is strangely cold. And her husband is nowhere to be found and seems to be deliberately avoiding the police. Since Jo believes the killing was not random, she looks into the background of Gia’s friends and the teachers and staff at the school. Then there are other violent acts linked to Briar Ridge and a shocking act that will threaten Jo’s family and lead her to an unexpected killer.

The Other Mothers is the fourth in a series featuring Detective Jo Fournier but it reads like a standalone thriller. And thriller it is. The conclusion is a total surprise! 5 stars.

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and M.M. Chouinard for this ARC.

More Books Like This

Her Silent Prayer Her Silent Prayer
2022
Little Lost Dolls Little Lost Dolls
2023
Angels in the Snow Angels in the Snow
2023
Every Waking Hour Every Waking Hour
2021
The Toybox The Toybox
2020
The Next Victim The Next Victim
2015

More Books by M.M. Chouinard

The Dancing Girls The Dancing Girls
2019
Taken to the Grave Taken to the Grave
2019
Her Daughter's Cry Her Daughter's Cry
2020
The Vacation The Vacation
2021
Her Silent Prayer Her Silent Prayer
2022
Little Lost Dolls Little Lost Dolls
2023

Customers Also Bought

The Silent Dolls The Silent Dolls
2020
One Child Alive One Child Alive
2021
Her Perfect Bones Her Perfect Bones
2021
The Playdate The Playdate
2021
Broken Girls Broken Girls
2021
I Know You Lied I Know You Lied
2020

Other Books in This Series

The Dancing Girls The Dancing Girls
2019
Taken to the Grave Taken to the Grave
2019
Her Daughter's Cry Her Daughter's Cry
2020