• $3.99

Publisher Description

‘Gripping… Jaw-dropping journey… I could not put the book down and picked it up at every opportunity I got and finished it within a couple of days. I just had to find out what happened.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

She seems too good to be true. And now she lives in your home…

 

Lily wants to be happy for her father when he tells her he’s getting married again. Even if it feels too soon after the death of Lily’s mother.

 

He’s madly in love with Maria. And he thinks she’s going to the perfect stepmother to Lily’s much-younger sister, Emma. And perhaps he’s right. Because no one seems to have a bad word to say about Maria.

 

It’s only Lily who can’t trust her. Who thinks no one is that perfect. Who notices no one had ever heard of Maria until exactly ten years before.

 

And then Emma goes missing…

 

A totally gripping and unmissable psychological suspense novel about dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Shalini Boland, Claire McGowan and Gone Girl.


Readers are loving The Perfect Stepmother:

‘This is a fantastic read! I could NOT stop reading it! Just when I thought I had figured it all out, twists and turns caught me by total surprise! Honestly, it’s one of the best thrillers I’ve read!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I was hooked from the first page. It was full of twists and turns and I was kept on the edge of my seat throughout!! That ending… Wow.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


A WINNER!!!!… Excellent plot… Awesome ending… An amazing book.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

An addictive read from page one… Unpredictable and intriguing… A page turner.' Littlemissbooklover87

 

‘A true thriller!… All of the secrets. All of the unknown. When you finally think you know what is going on, there is a major plot twist! It is perfect! This is a psychological thriller. And if I could, I would highlight the “psychological” and make it big!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Fast paced, gripping and it keeps you wondering… This one had me on the edge of my seat!!@bm.bookish.girl, 5 stars


Gripping… It grabbed me from the first page until the last page!… From one moment to the next I wasn't sure who or what to believe. There were many twists and turns that kept me wanting to turn each page until the final unexpected ending.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


So many secrets! So many twists and turns! Who do you believe?… Had me hooked from the start. I luuuuuuuuuuuuurve a good psychological thriller, especially when it involves *drumroll* FAMILY SECRETS!!!!!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘A great read… Had me hooked from the beginning… Amazing!!!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘A gripping and very tense thriller with twists and turns… kept me reading well into the night… [I] read it in twenty-four hours!’ NetGalley reviewer


ThrillingI couldn’t put this book down. I just had to know what happened… Very intriguing… An excellent read from beginning to end.’ Robin Loves Reading

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
June 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
322
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
1.9
MB

Customer Reviews

KHHSC ,

Suspenseful read!

When Lily learns that, only a year after her mother’s death from cancer, her father plans to marry Maria, she is upset. After all, Maria was her mother’s friend, the salon owner who visited every week to fix her hair and give her a special beauty treatment. Lily knows she should be happy for her father and her little sister Emma because they adore Maria but she suspects there is something wrong. She is right but she has no idea of the danger she is facing.

Maria, as it turns out, does have an idea. She has spent her life running from and trying to atone for a terrible decision she once made. Nothing is ever truly hidden and when Maria’s past clashes with the present, she must decide how to save her family.

The Perfect Stepmother is a suspenseful read with slowly building tension. Both Lily and Maria are sympathetic characters for their love of family. The exciting conclusion is totally unexpected. 5 stars.

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Karen King for this ARC.

More Books by Karen King