The Third Wife The Third Wife

The Third Wife

A Novel

    • 3.8 • 542 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

The Third Wife is a summer gem. The story is complex…the many characters well drawn... Readers of Donna Tartt and Tana French will recognize Jewell’s pacing for what it is: essential.” —New York Journal of Books

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone comes a riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes.

In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide?

At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife’s death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge.

“Jewell’s last few novels have been a revelation—emotionally sophisticated and complex,” says Kirkus Reviews. The Third Wife is “an emotionally intelligent, brilliantly plotted, and beautifully written examination of a very modern family that will keep you gripped to the end” (London Daily Mail).

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
June 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
11.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Pepper Michaels ,

Wrapped up a little too unrealistically

(Spoiler alert!) I like this writer, I enjoyed the over all story. However the ending felt too rushed and too clean for the mess the main character made of everyone’s life. A privileged, selfish, ego maniac needs more than an “aha” moment. If he really was set on changing and becoming more concerned about how his actions affected those whom he loved it wouldn’t be as simple as needing to turn over a new leaf. Clearly he hadn’t changed much at all, as revealed in his thinking during his last encounter. It’s not enough that he said he takes responsibility, he needs to understand, hands on how to take responsibility and learn how to prevent falling into the same pattern again in order to benefit himself and to heal the relationship with his family. But then I could be missing the writer’s whole point - maybe she was showing he hadn’t really changed at all.

hollace12 ,

Another miss for Lisa Jewell

Trying to read this was agonizing

RoxanneP 22 ,

The third Wife

Too slow, hard to get into did not even finish. Other books by author were easy to get into not this one.

More Books Like This

Passion's Promise Passion's Promise
1985
Don't Want to Miss a Thing Don't Want to Miss a Thing
2013
A Walk in the Park A Walk in the Park
2012
The Mutual Friend The Mutual Friend
2022
To the Moon and Back To the Moon and Back
2011
The Islanders The Islanders
2019

More Books by Lisa Jewell

Then She Was Gone Then She Was Gone
2018
The Family Upstairs The Family Upstairs
2019
None of This Is True None of This Is True
2023
I Found You I Found You
2017
The Night She Disappeared The Night She Disappeared
2021
Watching You Watching You
2018

Customers Also Bought

The Younger Wife The Younger Wife
2022
The Family Next Door The Family Next Door
2018
The End of Her The End of Her
2020
The First Mistake The First Mistake
2019
Last Girl Ghosted Last Girl Ghosted
2021
The Dilemma The Dilemma
2020