The Vanishing Child The Vanishing Child

The Vanishing Child

An absolutely gripping, emotional page-turner with a jaw-dropping twist

    • 4.3 • 27 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

It’s funny how one innocent decision can ruin your life. For me it was letting my son pedal away on his bike that hot summer day. He’d been so excited to go out by himself—like a big boy. And though I was usually so protective, I let him…

 

When Carla returns to her father’s house to care for him in his final days, she feels lost and heartbroken. So she’s glad when she meets a kindly older woman named CeCe, and they develop a warm, natural friendship. CeCe understands loss too. Because nearly forty years before her only son disappeared without trace, from this same small town.

 

Then, sorting through her father’s house, Carla discovers a box of diaries and newspaper clippings from the year CeCe’s son went missing. Her father was barely more than a child himself at the time, but it’s clear the disappearance affected him strongly.

 

The whole town is haunted by the memory of that summer: of the boy who was never found. But as Carla delves further into her father’s past she realises he may actually have known more than he has ever said—and that perhaps the answers CeCe so desperately seeks have been hidden here in this house all along.

 

With her father now too ill to tell his story himself, will Carla be able to discover the truth about what happened to the child who vanished—and give CeCe the answers she’s been seeking for forty years?

 

A heart-wrenching and emotionally charged novel about small-town secrets and the price of facing up to the truth. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Nicole Trope and The Silent Daughter will be gripped from the very first page until the final, heart-stopping twist.

 

Readers love Jennifer Harvey:

 

Wow, sooooo many emotions with this outstanding book… Awesome, GrippingHeartbreaking!!!” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow. What a suspenseful read! This book will keep you on the edge of your seat! Such vivid, visual characters that I felt I knew personally. I can't wait to read more books by this author!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


One of the best books I’ve read this year… The suspense was start to finish… I could not put this one down, I’ve carried my book around with my nose in it while cooking, cleaning and even taking a walk… This had my heart poundingAbsolutely a must read! Top of your list!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Thrilling. Suspenseful. Taut. Breathtakingly tense. Addictive. WOW, this was a book I couldn’t put down.” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripping thriller!This has so many emotions rolled into one! I quickly became engrossed in this… You won't be able to stop reading it once you've started! A true page-turner for sure!Oh Happy Reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Fast paced, very emotional, totally heartbreaking… I was just blown away!… An unforgettable story!” Heidi Lynn Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wonderful from start to finish… Amazing. Stunning. Brilliant.” Renita D’Silva ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Engaging, twisty and page-turningI could not put this book down.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Beyond amazing… The characters and storyline were fantastic… A must read.” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

It’s hard to put this book downWill stay with you for a long time.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
August 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
403
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
5
MB

More Books Like This

In the Blood In the Blood
2014
Corpse in a Crate Corpse in a Crate
2020
Funerals and Favors Funerals and Favors
2021
A Stiff in the Sand A Stiff in the Sand
2020
The Ghost Who Said Goodbye The Ghost Who Said Goodbye
2015
Never Come Back Never Come Back
2013

More Books by Jennifer Harvey

Antiracism as Daily Practice Antiracism as Daily Practice
2024
Someone Else's Daughter Someone Else's Daughter
2020
Raising White Kids Raising White Kids
2018
All the Lies We Told All the Lies We Told
2020
Dear White Christians Dear White Christians
2020
Operation: Thriving Marriage Operation: Thriving Marriage
2020

Customers Also Bought

Gone Before Gone Before
2020
The Family Lie The Family Lie
2019
A Good Mother A Good Mother
2021
The Silent Girl The Silent Girl
2021
The Hidden Child The Hidden Child
2022
The Woman in the Water The Woman in the Water
2021