To Love and to Cherish

A moving saga of family, ambition and love

    • 4.8 • 5 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

Two sisters grow up fascinated by the wider world thanks to their father's tales of life at sea. Will they find their own happiness across the ocean or a little closer to home?

In To Love and to Cherish, Lyn Andrews writes an evocative saga of life in 1920s Liverpool, and the events that shape two sisters' future. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.


Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. As Chief Steward on the SS Amazonia, their father Harry is often away, but Sal is a capable, warm-hearted mother.

Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering, Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance.

But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes. Through the trials that lie ahead, the sisters come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?

What readers are saying about To Love and to Cherish:

'I was enthralled from the first chapter, couldn't put it down, written with feeling... you feel you have been on the journey with them'

'This was a fantastic book, read within two days, couldn't put it down - five stars'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2010
December 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.6
MB

More Books by Lyn Andrews

2010
2010
2010
2010
2010
2010

Customers Also Bought

2013
2010
2010
2010
2010
2010