True Believer

James Reece 2

    • 4.2 • 187 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

**SOON TO BE A TV SERIES STARRING CHRIS PRATT**

'This is seriously good… the suspense is unrelenting, and the tradecraft is so authentic the government will probably ban it – so read it while you can!' Lee Child


A high-intensity roller-coaster ride, True Believer explodes with action and authenticity that cements Jack Carr as the new leader in political thrillers. 

Following his brutal quest for revenge, former Navy SEAL James Reece has fled the United States, emerging deep in the wilds of Mozambique. But he can’t stay hidden for long – when a string of horrific terrorist attacks plagues the Western world, the CIA tracks him down and recruits him.

Now a reluctant tool of the United States government, Reece must travel the globe, targeting terrorist leaders and unravelling a geopolitical conspiracy that will have worldwide repercussions . . .

If you loved Lee Child's Jack Reacher, Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp or Mark Dawson's John Milton, you will love True Believer and the James Reece series!

Praise for Jack Carr and the James Reece series:

'With a particular line in authentic tradecraft, this fabulously unrelenting thrill-ride was a struggle to put down' Mark Dawson

'Gritty, raw and brilliant!' Tom Marcus

‘So powerful, so pulse-pounding, so well-written—rarely do you read a debut novel this damn good’ Brad Thor

'With technical ferocity and devastating action sequences, Carr writes both from the gut and a seemingly infinite reservoir of knowledge in the methods of human combat. Loved it!' Chris Hauty

‘The best debut thriller of 2018’ Washington Times

'Thrilling' Publishers Weekly

'A powerful, thoughtful, realistic, at times terrifying thriller that I could not put down. A terrific addition to the genre, Jack Carr and his alter-ego protagonist, James Reece, continue to blow me away' Mark Greaney

'One of this year’s hottest thrillers, and a perfect fit for fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and Daniel Silva' The Real Book Spy

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
1 January
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
496
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster UK
SELLER
Simon and Schuster Australia Pty Ltd.
SIZE
7.8
MB

Customer Reviews

rhitc ,

I see dead people, lots of dead people

3.5 stars

Author
American. Navy SEAL for >20 years. Began as a sniper and ended up an officer leading teams in Iraq, Afghanistan, and the Philippines. Retired 2016 and started writing novels about, you guessed it, a Navy SEAL. The Terminal List came out in 2018, the second instalment, True Believer, in 2019 (2020 on Apple Books). Two more are due for publication in 2021.

In brief
After slaughtering every one on his hit list in Book 1, our boy escapes in a sailing boat and lobs up in Mozambique, as you would. He hides out on a wildlife retreat (as staff, not wildlife) until found by one of his old SEAL pals, who is now with the CIA. Meanwhile, all sorts of bad terrorist stuff is happening in Britain and Europe courtesy of a renegade Russian billionaire, a renegade Syrian general, and a nefarious supporting cast. Our boy is called back into service with the promise of a Presidential pardon and brain surgery for the tumour diagnosed in book one that is benign and not about to kill him like he thought. He works his way through another hit list, finding some new allies and losing some along the way, as you do.

Writing
Crisp globetrotting genre fiction, although the author took a long time introducing bad guys to set the story up. (Getting his ducks in a row, perhaps?) Once our boy gets off the reservation, watch out!

Bottom line
Entertaining escapist fare that was slow to get going but finished well. I suspect that might be enough James Reece for me.

😎Music ,

Wow

What a book. Talk about a page turner. I could not put it down till I was finished. Can’t wait for Savage Son.

More Books by Jack Carr

2020
2021
2021
2022
2020
2018

Customers Also Bought

2020
2019
2021
2018
2018
2021

Other Books in This Series

2021
2020