• $3.99

Publisher Description

I could not put it down ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Bookworm 86

Had me totally gripped ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Goodreads Reviewer

An absolute triumph ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Renita D’Silva

Beautiful and made me cry ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Book Reviews For U

Held me spellbound ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Bookish Jottings


Could you take in your best friend’s child, even if it risked destroying your own family?


Jo had thought that her life – and her heart – was full. With a busy job, a husband and a teenage daughter who is going off the rails, keeping her life running smoothly had already felt hard enough.


But now Jo sits at the funeral of her best friend Ginny, crushed by the loss of a friendship that had endured for thirty years: from college and their first days at work through to settling down and raising their own children.


Against her husband’s wishes, Jo has made a life-changing decision: to take in Ginny’s teenage son Victor and raise him as her own. Despite her misgivings, Jo feels she had no choice: Ginny was a single parent and Victor had no other family who could take care of him.


But Victor’s arrival is about to break open the fragile cracks that were already forming on the surface of Jo’s family life and in her small rural community… and expose a secret that has remained hidden for many years, with devastating consequences.


From the bestselling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before, Another Woman’s Child is an unputdownable and heartbreaking read about the secrets we keep from our families, and the sacrifices we are willing to make for those we love. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.


Readers love Another Woman’s Child:

WOW! What a rollercoaster ride this book was!... Totally gripped from the beginning… It has all the feels!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Kerry Fisher... you are simply a tremendous writer!… Such a fabulous read… Kerry always creates brilliant characters that you can bond with so easily… [This book] certainly pulled at my heart strings… I just absolutely adore everything about Kerry’s books and for me, Kerry is certainly one of the top women’s fiction writers.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


A fantastic story!… definitely an unputdownable book!… I wanted to get to the final chapter to see how the story would end, but at the same time, I did not want it to end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘It was very hard to put this book down. I just loved it. It was filled with emotions: happy ones, sad ones and everything in between.’ B for Bookreview, 5 stars


A thrilling and dramatic novel that kept me engaged throughout the entire journey.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I was totally consumed as soon as I started this one. This is a firecracker of a book. Kerry is brilliant and never lets me down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Could not put the book down, a real page turner. This book is a must on your book list.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Another great book by this author. An enjoyable story and an excellent read.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


‘A great book… well worth the read. I found it very compelling and enjoyed it totally.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


‘A highly enjoyable read that left me with a smile.’ Nicki's Book Blog


‘A great read that draws you in… it kept me entranced till the end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Another fantastic read from Kerry Fisher… A beautiful emotional story.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
August 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
371
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3.3
MB

Customer Reviews

sutterfly geek ,

Beautiful story! Must read!

Kerry Fisher has such a tremendous gift and talent for writing in a way to touch your heart, move your soul, and make you think about what’s really important. After reading this book I can say “Yes! Kerry has done it again!” More important than ever, I can say “Yes! Kerry has done it the BEST!” Another Woman’s Child will quickly become the most important and well loved book of the decade! After reading Another Woman’s Child by Kerry Fisher, you will never be the same and will be a better person for having read it!

I live in America, and it pains me to see the country so divided because of racial issues and the “cancel culture” mentality. Kerry Fisher has managed to clearly make the point that WHO a person IS matters much more than what color the person is. America NEEDS this book! Another Woman’s Child breaks down all barriers of racial issues with a realistic and moving story of a family that struggles to accept unexpected surprises, and learns to embrace differences. Yes, cultural and ethnic values are important, but skin color does not define who we are. Love, acceptance, kindness, and understanding show people much more about who we are than cultural and ethnic similarities and differences do. The world NEEDS this book because not only is it a gripping and emotional page turner that will keep you hooked from the very beginning, but it also speaks to the heart about how we see ourselves and how we should treat others.

Ginny and Jo have been best friends for years, and couldn’t have been more different. They both recognized their differences, but the strength of their friendship was never centered around their similarities and differences. Ginny, Jo, Patrick, and Cory once lived together, celebrated their unique differences, and supported one another through the best of times and the worst of times. Even though they have each moved on since their years as roommates, they still have unshakable bonds. Jo and Patrick found love in one another and were happily married and had a daughter. Ginny moved to Canada and shocked them all with the news that she was pregnant, but refused to share any information about the uninterested and uninvolved father. Cory, destined to forever be a bachelor, lived a life much different than the other three.

When Ginny dies at a tragically young age, her son is left without anywhere to call home. Despite Jo and her husband’s hesitation, Ginny’s dying plea had been that they take in her son, Victor. Already struggling with a defiant teenage daughter of their own, Phoebe, they initially have conflicting opinions as to whether on not they should open their home to Victor. Neither of them is prepared for raising another child, although he is nearly an adult, but even more so they are not sure how to go about being supportive to a mixed race teenage boy. Considering they are white and live in a mostly white community, Victor stands out and draws unwanted racial attention from self serving and intolerant people. Jo has always avoided confrontation and since her husband Patrick was against Victor coming to live with them, the pain of losing her best friend has never felt greater because she has no idea how to move forward and feels lost and alone. She knows that her life will never be the same, but her already fragile and unstable home life and mind are nowhere near ready to accept the shocking surprise that threaten to tear her family apart.

In Another Woman’s Child, Kerry Fisher shows us that how we handle life and the surprises that come our way is sometimes more important than the best laid plans we had for life.

Thank you Kerry Fisher, Bookouture, and Netgalley for allowing me to read this book. My opinions and feedback are honest. I highly recommend this book!

More Books by Kerry Fisher