Book of Night Book of Night

Book of Night

    • 4.0 • 277 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

"A delicious, dark, adrenaline rush of a book. I'm already dying to see Charlie Hall's next con." - New York Times bestselling author, Alix E. Harrow

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals, secret societies, and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make.

She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie Hall.

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but getting out isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that Charlie's shadowless, and possibly soulless, boyfriend has been hiding things from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends into a maelstrom of murder and lies.

Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world—all trying to steal a secret that will give them vast and terrible power.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2022
May 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Tor Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
3.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Summer Clouds ,

Surprised at how much I enjoyed it

It was set in a world where u could control ur shadows to do anything, and a story of a thief who was caught in it. I like there is some realism to it where it set in our current modern time & the girl can’t fight for toffee. I was quite amused in some parts but not a funny book. Still kept my interest up.

Brenda;) ,

Well…..not good

I don’t usually not like a book, but I just couldn’t get into this book. I really wanted to but I suffered for it .

TLHaywood ,

So creative.

Loved all of it.

More Books Like This

Magic Magic
2012
Night Owls Night Owls
2014
Cross Council Cross Council
2011
Blood Price Blood Price
1991
Grave Matters Grave Matters
2015
Death Twitches: A Lake People Novel Death Twitches: A Lake People Novel
2015

More Books by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince The Cruel Prince
2018
The Wicked King The Wicked King
2019
The Queen of Nothing The Queen of Nothing
2019
The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1) The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1)
2014
The Lost Sisters The Lost Sisters
2018
The Copper Gauntlet (Magisterium #2) The Copper Gauntlet (Magisterium #2)
2015

Customers Also Bought

Hell Bent Hell Bent
2023
For the Wolf For the Wolf
2021
The Golden Enclaves The Golden Enclaves
2022
Nettle & Bone Nettle & Bone
2022
The Last Graduate The Last Graduate
2021
A Deadly Education A Deadly Education
2020