The Storm and the Darkness The Storm and the Darkness
Book 1 - The House of Crimson & Clover

The Storm and the Darkness

A New Orleans Witches Family Saga

    • 3.8 • 428 Ratings

Publisher Description

Two brothers. One light, one dark. Ana is drawn to, and afraid of, them both.

With impeccable pacing, Cradit shifts effortlessly between these various points of view, demonstrating superb psychological insight and a compassion for even her most damaged (and frightening) characters. Her talent for creating atmosphere rivals Daphne du Maurier.”- Christopher Rice, New York TimesBestselling Author of The Heavens Rise

“This story will make you fall in love, shock you, keep you in suspense and make you stay up all night (warning) just so you can find out what happens next… tight and masterful.”- Ionia Froment, Amazon Top 100 reviewer

“Cradit's writing is poetic prose.”- Becket, Bestselling Author of Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles: An Alphabettery 

Ana Deschanel made a terrible mistake, one that not even her magic can fix. The only chance of protecting all involved is to flee New Orleans for the solitude of the remote North Atlantic.

Summer Island, Maine (population 202) is not the tranquil escape Ana envisioned. The locals are distant and cold, especially her neighbor, the reclusive veterinarian Jonathan St. Andrews. Her only lifeline is the eccentric caretaker, Alex, who conveniently shows up at all the right moments, warning her she’s completely unprepared for a Summer Island winter. As the storm approaches, Ana may soon be cut off from the rest of the world.

After a surprising encounter with Jonathan’s diametrically different brother, Finn, Ana braves the storm to return something he lost, only to slip and fall on the jagged shoreline. The St. Andrews brothers find her in the nick of time, bringing her to their home to ride out the blizzard. 

Ana comes from a family of powerful witches, but her own gift—healing—has never worked when she needed it. As both the storm and Ana’s condition worsen, the St. Andrews brothers learn there are more sinister forces at work, closer than they ever imagined.

With no help from the outside world, they must find a way to protect themselves from both the storm and the growing darkness that looms across the island.

From USA Today bestselling paranormal author Sarah M. Cradit comes The Storm and the Darkness.This novel is the first installment in the bestselling witches family saga, The House of Crimson & Clover

Amazon Reviewers:

"Tight and masterful." 

"Darkness is sexy."

"I absolutely love this world."

"Superb psychological insight." 

"I can't get enough of this series."

"It only takes a moment to become entangled in the lives of these characters - but it will take a lifetime to get over the effects!"

"If you haven't started this series, go, right now, start reading. They are that good."

"Get ready for an awesome ride."

The House of Crimson and Clover Series

This is the recommended reading order for the series.

Volume I: The Storm and the Darkness

Volume II: Shattered

Volume III: The Illusions of Eventide

Volume IV: Bound

Volume V: Midnight Dynasty

Volume VI: Asunder

Volume VII: Empire of Shadows

Volume VIII: Myths of Midwinter

Volume IX: The Hinterland Veil

Volume X: The Secrets Amongst the Cypress 

Volume XI: Within the Garden of Twilight

Volume XII: House of Dusk, House of Dawn

The Saga of Crimson & Clover

A sprawling dynasty. An ancient bloodline. A world of magic and mayhem.

Welcome to the Saga of Crimson & Clover, where all series within are linked but can be equally enjoyed on their own.

Series List

The House of Crimson & Clover Series: Dive into the secretive, ancient, powerful world of the Deschanels & Sullivans.

The Midnight Dynasty Series: There’s no place like home.
Vampires of the Merovingi Series: From the ashes of the sorcerer kings rose an empire.

The Seven Series: Seven siblings. Seven years. Seven spellbinding novels.

Visit for the latest information, news, and updates.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
June 4
Sarah M. Cradit
Sarah Marie Cradit

Customer Reviews

cat2729 ,


It was a very very slow book and described the characters into too much detail

Bunny623 ,


The jumping from character to character is annoying after a while. Story was pretty boring as well. The character development leaves a lot to be desired as they all come off as shallow.

_maddiemf ,

Literally finished it in a day

And i never do that.

More Books Like This

The House of Crimson & Clover Volumes I-IV The House of Crimson & Clover Volumes I-IV
Rune Gate: Rune Gate Cycle 1 Rune Gate: Rune Gate Cycle 1
Dark Child (Bloodsworn): Episode 2 Dark Child (Bloodsworn): Episode 2
Mermaids, Werewolves, and Witches, Oh My! - Paranormal Tails of the Deep and Dark Mermaids, Werewolves, and Witches, Oh My! - Paranormal Tails of the Deep and Dark
Shifting Shadows Shifting Shadows
The Ward Witch The Ward Witch

More Books by Sarah M. Cradit

Nineteen Seventy Nineteen Seventy
A Tempest of Discovery A Tempest of Discovery
St. Charles at Dusk St. Charles at Dusk
The House of Crimson & Clover Box Set Volumes V-VIII The House of Crimson & Clover Box Set Volumes V-VIII
The House of Crimson & Clover Volumes I-IV The House of Crimson & Clover Volumes I-IV
The Illusions of Eventide The Illusions of Eventide

Customers Also Bought

Displaced Displaced
Catacombs Catacombs
Court of Nightfall Court of Nightfall
City of Storms City of Storms
The Coven's Secret The Coven's Secret
The Librarian The Librarian

Other Books in This Series

Shattered Shattered
The Illusions of Eventide The Illusions of Eventide
Bound Bound
Midnight Dynasty Midnight Dynasty
Asunder Asunder
Empire of Shadows Empire of Shadows