• $3.99

Publisher Description

The party was supposed to be the highlight of the summer. If only I’d known that night would destroy our lives…


All the neighbours were laughing, drinking out of plastic glasses and getting along. I almost felt happy. Almost forgot about the terrible argument earlier and the sinister messages I’d been receiving from a strange address all week, threatening to expose the lies behind my perfect life.


As we finished with the red and gold fireworks and welcomed everyone back to our house, I believed that everything would be okay.


But I didn’t know who I was inviting in.


I never could have imagined what would happen here, in our home, after I’d gone up to bed.


Everyone saw something different.


It’s my daughter’s word against the story the boy from down the road is telling. But how can I find out what really happened that night without everyone finding out the truth about me?


An absolutely gripping story of the secrets you would do anything to keep hidden, with a twist you just won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of Gone GirlBig Little Lies and The Girl on the Train.

Readers are gripped by Claire Seeber:


It was so good I have been hiding in the toilet at work reading this on my phone as I needed to find out what happened!!… Super twisty… A real page-turner… I loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I was so hooked… I felt like I was watching a movie instead of reading a book… Loved the twists and turns… Beyond 5 stars.’ Itsy Bitsy Book Bits, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I could not stop reading, it was that good… One of the best psychological thrillers… Don't miss this.’Booklover Catlady, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Utterly unputdownable, read this brilliant book in two sittings… Took my breath away… My heart is still pounding as I write this.’ Rachel’s Random Reads


Freaking awesome. A true example of a page-turner.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Grabs you and doesn't let go... I read it in three hours because I simply had to find out what was happening!’ The Suspense is Thrilling Me, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripped me from the start and did not let go until the end… I honestly could not put it down.’ Poppy’s Book Blog


Impossible not to tear through the pages of this twisty thriller… Compelling reading, guaranteed.’ Little Bookness Lane


‘A fast paced and taut thriller… I guarantee once you start reading it you will find impossible to put down.’ The Book Review Café, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘An all-absorbing, chilling, psychological thriller. My husband could not prise my eReader out of my hands the weekend I read this!’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Incredible twists and turns that I didn't see coming… Full of tension that really hooks you in.’ The Coffee and Kindle


‘This is a terrifyingly twisted psychological thriller… A sleepless night for the reader.’ Strong Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


24 hours is all it will take to read this high-octane thriller from Claire Seeber - I couldn't put it down.’ Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go


Had me turning pages in a frenzy. I was desperate to find out where it was going! A cracking read.’ Cass Green, author of The Woman Next Door


Don’t start this late at night unless you plan on losing sleep…’ Jenny Blackhurst, author of The Foster Child

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
June 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
401
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
4.2
MB

Customer Reviews

_clairedwyer_ ,

Slow Start but Picks Up

This story is told from three different perspectives: Ruby March, a recently widowed mom who must raise her teenage son on her own while working at her struggling flower shop. Melissa, best friend of Ruby, married to Rex and stepmom to Cecilia. Last Nella Jackson, the well-off wife of a man running for Parliament who’s the mom to teenage Willow and younger brother Beau. After unfortunate events in the neighborhood bring these three women together it quickly becomes clear that all are keeping secrets. Some are worse than others and when the teens start to create trouble of their own no on seems to know the truth.
When I first started this book I wasn’t quite sure what I got myself into. I knew I was in for domestic suspense. But, as an American I had trouble understanding the British banter - and there’s a lot of it. The first half of the book was a lot of character building and who has a relationship to whom. We were forewarned that something bad was going to happen, but that didn’t come until about 60% through. From there it really picked up for me. I found the first half difficult and even a bit boring to get through.
While the neighborhood drama made for some okay suspense I found this to be more about who each of the characters were themselves and what their motives were for acting in the way they did. I found a good deal of the “why” to be fairly predictable, but was still entertained as it played out.
The story was extremely well-written. I have no doubt I would’ve enjoyed the dialogue and humor more if I were from the UK. I found most of the characters to be both likable and relatable and was rooting for them. I liked that not only was there some teenage drama, but also adult drama. This would be perfect for fans of “Someone We Know” by Shari Lapena who aren’t looking for a crime book but are still enthralled by secrets.

Lanna Wilson ,

5 Stars

Fantastic read!

Paleo Schnauzer ,

Utterly incomprehensible

Got to about page 10 in the sample. I’m used to books that have a somewhat confusing preface or prologue but once past that these books make sense. Everyone I met in the first few pages was an utter imbecile and it was so heavily laden with Brit-speak it bordered on incomprehensible. I even pulled out a map of London to try to figure out what this area was about. Soon gave up. Deleted free sample and it’s now gone.

More Books by Claire Seeber

2016
2021
2015
2021
2018
2017