Book 6 - Heart of Enquiry

The Gentleman Who Loved Me

    • 4.5 • 224 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

In this sweeping finale to the bestselling Heart of Enquiry series, a flawed heroine seeking redemption meets the hero who is everything she needs—but who can’t give her the one thing she wants…

Her Goal is Respectability

The product of her mama’s youthful indiscretion, Primrose Kent makes the painful discovery that, in Society’s eyes, neither her beauty nor her charm can overcome the fact that she’s a bastard—and one with a murky past. After her attempts to gain respectability backfire, Rosie resorts to desperate measures to salvage her reputation. Yet her plan leads to further peril and throws her into the arms of a devilishly attractive man—a stranger who feels achingly familiar… and who will guarantee her ruination… 

His Business is Scandal

A former prostitute and now the owner of London’s most successful pleasure house, Andrew Corbett is certain of one thing: he’s no gentleman. His notoriety has never bothered him until he encounters Primrose Kent, the girl he’d once loved like a sister, but who, as a woman, captures his heart in an entirely different way. He’ll stop at nothing to protect Rosie from her enemies—but he must also shield her from his own ungovernable desires… 

Their Attraction is Irresistible… and Dangerous

As Rosie and Andrew struggle to contain their passion and a love too powerful to resist, danger stalks their every move. They must battle not only their present foes but the looming shadows of the past. In their journey to happily ever after, the pair discover that love isn’t what you think you want… but what you truly need. 

Length: Full-length novel 

Heat level: This is a hot historical romance with sizzling love scenes.

The Gentleman Who Loved Me is the 6th book in the Heart of Enquiry series, which features hot romance, fun and feel-good happily ever afters, and intriguing mystery/ adventure. While Gentleman can be read as a stand-alone novel, many readers enjoy reading it as part of a series. The chronological order for Grace's series follows below.

The Heart of Enquiry (Kent family saga) series:

Prequel Novella: The Widow Vanishes (Will & Annabel)

Book 1: The Duke Who Knew Too Much (Alaric & Emma)

Book 2: M is for Marquess (Gabriel & Thea)

Book 3: The Lady Who Came in from the Cold (Marcus & Penny)

Book 4: The Viscount Always Knocks Twice (Richard & Violet)

Book 5: Never Say Never to an Earl (Sinjin & Polly)

Book 6: The Gentleman Who Loved Me (Andrew & Rosie)

The Game of Dukes series:

Book 1: The Duke Identity

Book 2: Enter the Duke (Pre-order)

The Mayhem in Mayfair series: 

Book 1: Her Husband's Harlot (Helena & Nicholas)

Book 2: Her Wanton Wager (Percy & Gavin)

Book 3: Her Protector's Pleasure (Marianne & Ambrose)

Book 4: Her Prodigal Passion (Charity & Paul)

Chronicles of Abigail Jones:

Book 1: Abigail Jones 

About the Author

National & International Bestselling Author Grace Callaway writes hot historical romances set in the Regency and Victorian eras. Her debut book, Her Husband's Harlot, was a Romance Writers of America® Golden Heart® Finalist and a #1 Kindle Regency Bestseller. Her subsequent books have hit Top 100 Bestselling lists on Amazon, iBooks, and Barnes & Noble, and she's a finalist for the National Reader's Choice Awards® and the Daphne du Maurier Award® for Excellence in Mystery/ Suspense. Grace loves writing emotionally compelling characters who find their perfect mate on a journey to HEA that includes laughter, adventure, and lots of steamy passion.

June 15
Grace Callaway
Grace Callaway

Customer Reviews

j21969 ,

I liked it.

This one made me cry. I like that in a book. It’s probably not realistic but, gosh it’s a good story. Can’t wait to read more by Grace Callaway.

socaldreamer ,

Ok but not great, bit disturbing with age issues

I have very mixed feelings about this book, especially since I usually really enjoy this author, so I went back and forth between 2 and 3 stars. Andrew was a great dynamic character, I liked the interactions with the supporting characters and family from the series, and the two things I love most about this series, the very steamy romantic bits and the murder mystery like plot, did not disappoint! However, I had trouble liking Primrose - she is bratty, superficial, and immature and she stays that way throughout. I’m not sure what was endearing about her besides that she was pretty.

But what bothered me the most was the ~16 year age difference between the two characters. I get that some gap was important to the story, but the fact that she was only like 4 when he last saw her after caring for her in a very fatherly way, made this pretty cringy when he is immediately in love with her when they meet as adults. With Andrew later saying he has “always loved her”, Primrose saying he reminds her of her father, and Andrew “teaching” her about pleasure… it was all just a bit icky feeling. Especially when combined with how Primrose was sold as a child and almost made a child bride and Andrew was in a controlling/manipulating relationship that started when he was 15 and the woman was 25, and it equals a pretty obvious theme here. I had to change things around in my head as I read to make it through to the second half of the book which was more focused on the murder & mystery.

Dr. JBS ,

Best one of the series!

My favorite of the series. Love Andrew’s character!

More Books Like This


More Books by Grace Callaway


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series