The Nine Tailors The Nine Tailors
Book 11 - Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries

The Nine Tailors

a cosy murder mystery for fans of Poirot

    • 4.5 • 54 Ratings
    • £5.99
    • £5.99

Publisher Description

The eleventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer Jill Paton Walsh - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries.

'D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers' Daily Telegraph

When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.

The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.

'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2009
15 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hodder & Stoughton
SIZE
5.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Sicox ,

Nine tailors

The best of the golden age by far. My father introduced me to this splendidly atmospheric plot years ago. Time and time again it never tires. The fenland will never seem the same again. Splendid.

Read anon ,

Must read for Sayers fans

One of Dorothy Sayers best, less mannered than her later works, atmospheric with a fine sense of place and good characterisations. A clever plot as always, but plausible which is not always the case with the golden age authors. A good read.

MC Square 2nd ,

A classic of English detective fiction

An aristocratic sleuth, an absent minded vicar, a suave butler, a stolid country copper, a mysterious corpse and stolen emeralds. You couldn't ask for more. But you get it in floods. A wonderfully affectionate evocation of an English countryside coming to terms with modernity, a plot brilliantly woven around the ancient mysteries of bell ringing and the melancholy legacy of the Great War, all with Sayers' usual narrative energy and delightful mastery of the language. Highly recommended.

More Books Like This

Lord Peter Wimsey: The Complete Short Stories Lord Peter Wimsey: The Complete Short Stories
2018
A Treasury of Sayers Stories A Treasury of Sayers Stories
2019
Early Works of Dorothy Sayers Early Works of Dorothy Sayers
2010
Pictures of Perfection Pictures of Perfection
2015
Enter Pale Death Enter Pale Death
2014
The Last Kashmiri Rose The Last Kashmiri Rose
2011

More Books by Dorothy L. Sayers

Whose Body? Whose Body?
2009
Gaudy Night Gaudy Night
2009
Unnatural Death Unnatural Death
2009
Clouds of Witness Clouds of Witness
2009
Have His Carcase Have His Carcase
2009
The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club
2009

Customers Also Bought

Strong Poison Strong Poison
2009
Busman's Honeymoon Busman's Honeymoon
2009
Lord Peter Views the Body Lord Peter Views the Body
2009
In the Teeth of the Evidence In the Teeth of the Evidence
2009
Striding Folly Striding Folly
2009
Thrones, Dominations Thrones, Dominations
1998

Other Books in This Series

Gaudy Night Gaudy Night
2009
Busman's Honeymoon Busman's Honeymoon
2009
In the Teeth of the Evidence In the Teeth of the Evidence
2009
Striding Folly Striding Folly
2009
Whose Body? Whose Body?
2009
Clouds of Witness Clouds of Witness
2009