The Nine Tailors

a cosy murder mystery for fans of Poirot

    • 4.4 • 47 Ratings
    • £5.99
    • £5.99

Publisher Description

The eleventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer Jill Paton Walsh - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries.

'D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers' Daily Telegraph

When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.

The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.

'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2009
15 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hodder & Stoughton
SIZE
5.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Sicox ,

Nine tailors

The best of the golden age by far. My father introduced me to this splendidly atmospheric plot years ago. Time and time again it never tires. The fenland will never seem the same again. Splendid.

Read anon ,

Must read for Sayers fans

One of Dorothy Sayers best, less mannered than her later works, atmospheric with a fine sense of place and good characterisations. A clever plot as always, but plausible which is not always the case with the golden age authors. A good read.

MC Square 2nd ,

A classic of English detective fiction

An aristocratic sleuth, an absent minded vicar, a suave butler, a stolid country copper, a mysterious corpse and stolen emeralds. You couldn't ask for more. But you get it in floods. A wonderfully affectionate evocation of an English countryside coming to terms with modernity, a plot brilliantly woven around the ancient mysteries of bell ringing and the melancholy legacy of the Great War, all with Sayers' usual narrative energy and delightful mastery of the language. Highly recommended.

More Books by Dorothy L. Sayers

2009
2009
2009
2009
2009
2009

Customers Also Bought

2009
1998
2003
2010
2013
2015

Other Books in This Series

2009
2009
2009
2009
2009
2009